Skip to main content

English as a Second Language (ESL): Online Resources

Library resources for ESL students and teachers.

Library Databases

The NYIT Library offers students access to many databases full of trustworthy, vetted, and peer-reviewed sources, including articles, reports, and much more. 


DATABASE PRO TIP: Always select full-text when searching for articles!

DATABASE PRO TIP: Select peer-reviewed when searching for academic articles!

DATABASE PRO TIP: To search for recent articles, narrow your search by changing the publisher date!

Suggested Databases

ProQuest Central

Multidisciplinary database covering over 160 subjects. Great for finding peer-reviewed articles and up-to date-news articles from newspapers like the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.

Academic Search Complete

Multi-disciplinary full text database. Great for finding peer-reviewed articles.

Ebrary

Search or browse through full-text ebooks in a wide range of subject areas. Great for studying and for finding research paper sources.

CQ Researcher

Reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Great for current events and issues.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Covers today’s social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, from health care to immigration. Great for researching current events and issues. 

Credo Reference

Dictionaries and encyclopedic resources for the Arts. Great for exploring research paper topics.

Statista

One of the world’s largest statistics portals providing access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources. Great for finding in-depth reports and statistics.

Resources From Around the Web

Below are trustworthy websites that will help you write clearly and cite correctly:

New York Public Library Resources

Search Terms

Below are search terms that may lead you to books on ESL/ELI education in the library catalog:

ESL
English as a second language
English as a foreign language
English language learners
Bilingualism
Language and education
Second language acquisition
Education, Bilingual
Language acquisition

© 2016 New York Institute of Technology