Skip to main content

Urban Design & Planning: Home

Library Databases

The NYIT Library offers students access to many databases full of trustworthy, vetted, and peer-reviewed sources, including articles, reports, and much more. 


DATABASE PRO TIP: Always select full-text when searching for articles!

DATABASE PRO TIP: Select peer-reviewed when searching for academic articles!

DATABASE PRO TIP: To search for recent articles, narrow your search by changing the publisher date!

Suggested Databases

ProQuest Central

Multidisciplinary database covering over 160 subjects. Great for finding peer-reviewed articles and up-to date-news articles from newspapers like the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.

Academic Search Complete

Multi-disciplinary full text database. Great for finding peer-reviewed articles.

Ebook Central

Search or browse through full-text ebooks in a wide range of subject areas. Great for studying and for finding research paper sources.

CQ Researcher

Reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Great for current events and issues.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Covers today’s social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, from health care to immigration. Great for researching current events and issues. 

Credo Reference

Dictionaries and encyclopedic resources for the Arts. Great for exploring research paper topics.

Statista

One of the world’s largest statistics portals providing access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources. Great for finding in-depth reports and statistics.

Style Guides

Tools for Creating Citations

 Purdue Owl MLA Guide A fantastic guide to citing sources using MLA 8th edition, including the list of works cited and in-text citations. Great for all steps of the research paper process.
Purdue Owl APA Guide A fantastic guide to citing sources using APA 6th edition, including the list of works cited and in-text citations. Great for all steps of the research paper process.
MLA 8 Reference Guide Short PDF refernce guide revealing the structure of a citation in MLA 8, a list of core citation elements, and citation examples. Created by Portland Community College library. 
Knight Cite Citation Service Great for creating citations in APA, MLA, and more. 
EasyBib Great for creating citations in APA, MLA, and more. 
Writing & Citing LibGuide This NYIT guide offers these same resources and more for writing and citing your paper.

Tools for Finding Demographics & Statistics

US Census Great for finding demographics in the United States
American FactFinder Great for finding facts, statistics, and demographics from the US Census
Pew Research Great for finding statistics and reports about all subjects
Urban Institute  Great for finding statistics, reports, data visualizations and policy debates. 
NYC.gov Data sets for all aspects of New York City and the boroughs.

Architecture and Design Databases

Databases are accessible 24/7 from anywhere.
Click on any link below. If you are off campus, enter your NYIT ID when prompted. 

Loading ...

Find Geographic Data and Maps

United States

Historical Mapping

-Sanborn Maps

Climatic Mapping

-NOAA Climate Mapper

Demographic Mapping

-Census Mapper

-American Fact Finder

Loading ...

In this Guide

This guide will jump start access to your course resources and research tools. Each Tab outlines resources and best practices to assist your research practice. 

Architecture Research

Geographic Information Systems in Visual Resources.

GIS and GeoData are become increasingly sophisticated and comprehensive tools. This tab includes only a smally vignette on this knowledge discipline. Work with your colleagues and the librarians to further investigations. Reach out and recommend additional tools.  

Research & Writing

Style Guides and Citations

 

Librarian

Vanessa Viola's picture
Vanessa Viola
Contact:
Art & Architecture Library
Education Hall
New York Institute of Technology
Old Westbury, NY 11568
516-686-7579
Website

Librarian

Sebastien Marion's picture
Sebastien Marion
Contact:
Manhattan Library
1855 Broadway
New York, NY, 10023
646.273.6102
Website

New York Public Library (NYPL)

As a student in New York City, you have access to NYPL's resources. Becoming a member of NYPL is easy. If the NYIT Library does not have a book you need, try searching the NYPL catalog. Borrowers can place a hold on NYPL books and have the book sent to the closest NYPL library. 

Get a Library Card

NYPL Catalog

Closest to Manhattan Campus: New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center

© 2016 New York Institute of Technology