Skip to main content

Periodicals & Other Sources for Architecture - MANHATTAN LIBRARY: Home

Guide to print periodicals and other sources for architecture students at the NYIT Library, Manhattan.

Research for Architecture

Quick Reference - Maps & Atlases

Quick Reference - Codes & Standards

Overview of Architectural Research

The Challenge of Architectural Research

Architecture research can be challenging because finding the proper resources can come from a variety of mediums both print and electronic.

To access databases containing a wide variety of resources start at www.nyit.edu/library and click on the Articles & Databases tab. In the drop down menu choose the subject: 

Architecture, Design, Fine Art. 

Under this heading there are many useful databases which provide a wealth of information from both trade and academic journals concerning Art & Architecture.

 

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Residing under the subject heading of Architecture, Design, Fine Art is The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database. This provides users access to descriptions of content from a slew of well know international architectural related periodicals concerning history & practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. This is often the place to go when looking for plans elevations, photos & sections of a project.

  • When using the Avery Index, keep in mind that this an index that covers a very large international selection of periodicals on architecture. 
  • While the NYIT Manhattan Library has an excellent selection of architecture periodicals, we do not have all of the periodicals featured in the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals.
  • To locate print periodicals we have in the NYIT Manhattan library consult the pamphlet containing current architectural periodical holdings at the NYIT Manhattan Library by clicking on the below link for a PDF:

 

Art & Architecture Collectections

 

NYIT Libraries - Architecture Collections

Art & Architecture Library - Education Hall
Northern Blvd. Old Westbury, NY 11568-8000 
Telephone: 516.686.7579, 516.686.7422

Manhattan Library
1855 Broadway, New York, NY, 10023-7692 
Telephone: 212.261.1526

New York Public Library

Miriam and Ira D. Wallach
Division of Art, Prints and Photographs
Art & Architecture Collection
Stephen A. Schwarzman Building
Fifth Avenue at 42nd Street
New York, NY, 10018
Third Floor, Room 300
Telephone: 212.930.0835

Librarian

Edmund Jessup
Contact:
Manhanttan Library
Tel: 212 261-1527
Voicemail: 212 273-6103

Art Source

Art Source

Art Source is a database that contains over 600 full-text electronic journals, on a variety of art related content. A selection of journals in this database includes architecture related materials, and available online in full text. This is a another place that researcher can go to locate plans of a project and other architecture related content. 

Quick Reference - Other

© 2016 New York Institute of Technology