Skip to main content

PubMed Search Made Easy: Managing the Search Results

This is a guide on how to search PubMed, the world's largest database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.

Save Searches and Set E-mail Alerts

  1. Enter the phrase or query in the search box and click Search.
  2. From the Results screen, click on the Create alert link below the search box. You will be taken to a Saved Search screen where you can select your options. (If you are not already signed into My NCBI, you will be prompted to do so.)
  3. Select how often you want updates, the format of the e-mail and the records, and the number of items you would like included in the message.
  4. Once you have made all your selections, click Save. This search will now be included on your list of Saved Searches in My NCBI.

PubMed Feature: Send to

The Send to: menu can be used to send or copy PubMed records to the following locations:

  • File – Use to save citations as a file on your computer. You can send individual, selected, or all citations to a file in any of the PubMed formats such as Abstract, Summary or MEDLINE formats.
  • Collections – Use Collections to build collections of records, to save indefinitely. See Collections for more details.
  • Order – Use to order a copy of the article. This will be addressed under Getting the Articles, a later section of the tutorial.
  • Citation Manager – Use to export your search results to a citation management program such as EndNote, Reference Manager or ProCite. The export will be in MEDLINE (tagged) format.
  • Clipboard – Use the Clipboard to store records for today – to do something with before you sign out or close PubMed.
  • E-mail – Use to send results to an email address.
  • My Bibliography – Use My Bibliography if you are an NIH-funded researcher and are responsible for public access reporting. Or, use if you’d like to have a separate place to build a bibliography that contains citations from outside of PubMed.

PubMed Feature: Send to Order

If your article is not freely available online, Send to Order allows you to order the full text copy of an article from the library by using an automated document ordering program called Loansome Doc. To place a Loansome Doc order using the Clipboard follow these steps:

  1. Select the citations for which you want to order the full text.
  2. Select Order from the Send to menu. Click Order articles button.
  3. Enter your E-mail address and your Loansome Doc Password and click the Login button.
  4. Read through the order form to ensure that all entries are accurate, and click the Proceed to Delivery Options button at the bottom of the screen.
  5. Click on the Copyright Compliance link near the bottom of the screen to read that statement. Click the Back button. Then click the checkbox and the Continue button.
  6. Next you are brought to the Confirm Order screen which confirms your order. Review the information again and click the Send Order button at the bottom of the screen. Loansome Doc leaves you at the Order Sent screen.
© 2016 New York Institute of Technology