Skip to main content

Nursing: Library FYI

This nursing guide provides information for finding useful nursing resources.

Library Information

  • The Medical Library has four printer/photocopy machines located on all levels of the library. Your print allotment can be used for printing or photocopying. When your print allotment runs out, you will need to put money on your NYIT Flex Account to pay for copies.
  • You must have your NYIT ID card to enter and use the library. Your ID card also serves as your library card
  • Laptops are available for computer use - there are no desktop computers in the Medical Library
  • The library is open until midnight seven days a week

Did you know?

The MedCom Video Training Programs Collection contains over 100 nursing training videos for Nursing Education. These videos are available 24/7 and offer a wide range of topics including: infection control, cardiac nursing, pediatric nursing, legal aspects of nursing, pain management and many more topics.

Database Info

CINAHL with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for nearly 600 journals dating back to 1981. This database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition to searching journals, CINAHL with Full Text, offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. To access, click here.

The NYCOM Library has a site license to the New England Journal of Medicine, which includes images and videos. You can access by going to NYIT Journal Locator.

The library produces a library newsletter bimonthly which includes useful information on new and interesting medical websites, new developments in the library and interesting medical news items.

The library databases are available 24/7 on campus and off campus. If you are accessing off campus, you must sign in with your NYIT e-mail username and password. If you are on campus, no username and password are necessary to access the databases.

Librarian

Jeanne Strausman's picture
Jeanne Strausman
Contact:
Chief Medical Librarian
NYIT/College of Osteopathic Medicine
516-686-3779
© 2016 New York Institute of Technology