LibGuides: Philosophy: Internet Resources

Evaluating Web Resources

How do you know if a Web site is appropriate for your project? It has to pass the C.R.A.A.P. test!

Currency: How up-to-date is the information?

Relevance: How does the information relate to your topic?

Authority: By whom was this content created? What credentials and/or demonstrated expertise does the author possess?

Accuracy: Is the information correct? Are there spelling or grammatical errors?

Purpose: Why was this content created? Does this information exist to educate you or to sell you something?

-- Adapted from "Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test" by the librarians at the Meriam Library at California State University, Chico.

Ethics Updates
Ethics Updates is designed primarily to be used by ethics instructors and their students. It is intended to provide resources and updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia receives no funding, and operates through the volunteer work of the editors, which consists of editors, authors, volunteers, and technical advisers. At present the IEP is visited by over 500,000 persons per month.
PhilSci-Archive
The PhilSci-Archive is an electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science. It is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community. The goal of the archive is to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.

American Philosophical Association
The American Philosophical Association was founded in 1900 to promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline.
American Philosophical Society
The American Philosophical Society promotes useful knowledge in the sciences and humanities through excellence in scholarly research, professional meetings, publications, library resources, and community outreach. This country's first learned society, the APS has played an important role in American cultural and intellectual life for over 250 years.
American Society for Bioethics and Humanities
The purpose of ASBH is to promote the exchange of ideas and foster multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary, and interprofessional scholarship, research, teaching, policy development, professional development, and collegiality among people engaged in all of the endeavors related to clinical and academic bioethics and the health-related humanities.

Email Me