Skip to main content

Mobile Apps & Resources for Students: Reference

Apps and resources for mobile access to our library databases as well as app recommendations for studying, research, utilities, and much more.

Books

iBooks

Kindle (Amazon)

Nook (Barnes & Noble)

PlayBook (Google)

Language

Merriam-Webster Dictionary

This free dictionary app features an integrated thesaurus, example sentences, a Word of the Day, favorites, and more.

Dictionary.com

Top-rated #1 Android dictionary app, with trusted reference content from Dictionary.com & Thesaurus.com.

Google Translate

Translate words and phrases between more than 60 languages using Google Translate. For many of the languages included, users can speak their phrases and hear the corresponding translations. 

English Idioms Free

This application is a dictionary of about 3500 English idiomatic expressions with definitions. For native speakers and language study students.

English Idioms Illustrated

English Idioms Illustrated provides an illustrated explanation of 23 common idioms. Additional illustrations are available through an in-app purchase.

Grammar Express: Lite and Free Versions

Having trouble with your grammar? The lite and free versions of Grammar Express provide quick quizes and explanations to help you sharpen-up your syntax.

Mathematics

Free Graphing Calculator

This flexible graphing calculator features a scientific calculator, graphic functions, a unit converter, table creator, and built-in reference for formulas.

Algeo Graphing Calculator 

It has the best graphing experience available on the Play Store. Draw functions, find intersections and show a table of values of the functions with an easy to use interface.

Formulas HD

Forgot an important formula? Formulas HD covers calculus and differential equations.

Formulas Lite

A simple, easy to use application which helps you to refer collection of most important formulas of maths, physics & chemistry.

Math Ref Free

A free version of Math Ref, Math Ref Free provides a sample of over 600 helpful formulas, figures, tips, and examples from the following areas: algebra, geometry, trigonometry, series & sequences, derivatives, integration, probability & statistics, physics, algorithms, and more.

Fine Arts

artCircles

Take a spin (literally!) through artCircles to discover classic and current artwork. Explore works using the collection wheels centered around colors, words, or featured curators; create a personal collection of favorites; and share your collection via Facebook or email.  

Art Academy

Art gallery with a vast collection of paintings, museums, painters, wallpapers. Over 4000 paintings, 700 painters and 300 museums!

Brooklyn Museum Mobile

With the Brooklyn Museum's mobile app, you can browse the collection and learn about exhibitions and special events.

Musée du Lourve

In this official app of the Musée du Louvre, you will find 100 Louvre masterpieces, over  500 images and details to zoom in on, a presentation of the palace and its history, and updates on museum events. 

Musee d'Orsay

The complete Orsay programme at your fingertips with the official museum app. The official Musée d'Orsay application is a connected application linked to the museum website. It presents the museum’s full programme of events.

National Gallery

This app features a collection of the best paintings stored in the National Gallery in London. Highlights of the app include: 183 paintings by over 100 artists, separation of paintings by artist, custom filtered searches, favorites, slideshops, and ability to share images via email and facebook.

Music

Music Tutor Free

Want to improve your sight reading? Music Tutor Free is perfect for learning music.

MusicTutor SightRead Lite

Learn to read and write music with MusicTutor SightRead Lite.

Infinaut Guitar Companion

Whether you're a beginner or a pro, the Infinaut Guitar Companion is an invaluable app. It includes: a tuner, chord charts with variations, over 150 scales, auto strum, manual strum, dynamic string indicators, a metronome, and drum tracks.

Perfect Ear

An easy and fun ear training tool that will help both professional musicians and those who just want to improve their musical ear.

Librarian

Rosemary Burgos-Mira's picture
Rosemary Burgos-Mira
Contact:
Wisser Library
Old Westbury, NY
516-686-3790
Social:Twitter Page
© 2016 New York Institute of Technology