Skip to main content

Engineering- General resources: E-Reference Resources at NYIT Libraries

This guide identifies engineering library resources available from NYIT Libraries

Search Tips: Encyclopedias & Directories

Use Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, almanacs) to:

  • get background information on your topic
  • explore topics for research or a paper
  • familiarize yourself with an unknown topic

When searching for articles in an online encyclopedia, just type in your topic.  Here are some examples:

  • mechanical engineering
  • electrical engineering
  • industrial engineering
  • nanotechnology
  • civil engineering
  • operations management

E-Reference Resources

E-reference resources allow you to access encyclopedias, dictonaries and other general references from any computer.

 

Credo Reference Logo Credo Reference  This is a collection of core reference sources.  A good place to start your research.

 Access Engineering from Mc Graw-Hill. Authorative content. Immediate solutions.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Engineering.  Choose from one of the subjects listed or use the search box to find a specific topic. Access Engineering

AccessScience from McGraw-Hill Education. The science authority.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Choose from one of the subjects listed or use the search box to find a specific topic. Access Science

 

  

   Gale Virtual Reference Library contains dictionaries, encyclopedias & handbooks

 

 

Oxford Reference Collection contains dictionaries & encyclopedias

 

Librarian

Rosemary Burgos-Mira's picture
Rosemary Burgos-Mira
Contact:
Wisser Library
Old Westbury, NY
516-686-3790
Social:Twitter Page
© 2016 New York Institute of Technology