Skip to main content

The New York Institute of Technology: Historical Resources: Special Collections

About these Resources

Many of the best historical resources take the form of items in special collections. Yearbooks, college catalogues, and NYIT newsletters are examples of special collection items, as are copies of student newspapers, and much more.

 

TechLink (1999-2002)

TechLink was predecessor to NYIT Magazine (below).

Read more about TechLink in center column >

For History since 2002

NYIT Magazine is successor to NYIT Magazine (above).

Read more about NYIT Magazine in center column >

From NYIT's President

Read more about President's Report in center column >

Historical Resources in Special Collections

For College history in the making, take a look at the Old Westbury campus student newspaper, the Campus Slate, ONLINE.

Special Collections in the Wisser Library, Old Westbury
(most collections partial & intermittent)
NYIT 40th Anniversary Calendar (More info + sample page below)
NYIT College Catalogues (undergraduate, graduate)*
NYIT Masters' Theses
NYIT Yearbooks (from all New York campuses)*
NYIT Master Plans *
NYIT Annual Commencement Booklets/Programs*
NYIT Alumni Directories*
NYIT Academic Senate Minutes*
NYIT Academic Senate Records*
NYIT Course Schedules (undergraduate, graduate)*
NYIT Student Handbooks*
NYIT Bylaws*
NYIT Administrative Manuals*
NYIT Institutional Self-Study (1981)*
The Campus Slate student newspaper (1966 - current, print & digital)
(Ask a librarian for help searching Slate:  516-686-7657)
Campus Slate & Manhattan Chronicle (student newspapers)

* These items are located behind the Wisser Circulation Desk
* Yearbook titles are different for different campuses: 
      NYIT Old Westbury -- Estate
      NYIT Manhattan -- Edumator
      NYIT Central Islip -- New Horizons

For limited runs of other historical NYIT publications:
The NYCOM Chronicle (School of Osteopathy) / Phone  516-686-3743
Currents (School of Management) / Phone  516-686-7657
The Alumni Newsletter (Alumni Office) / Phone  516-686-1254
The Tunnel (Central Islip) / Phone 516-686-7657
The Central Islip Times / Phone  516-686-7657
The Campus Voice (Central Islip) / 516-686-7657
The President's Newsletter / Phone 516-686-7657 (Sample issue below)
 
 NYIT in-house online / e-publications HERE

TechLink (from the NYIT Alumni Association)

A rich source of historical NYIT information spanning 1999-2002. Published for only three years, its title changed, its content evolved, and it became NYIT Magazine. TechTalk has never been made available online. PRINT copies are available in the Wisser Library Periodicals Department. Phone:  (516) 686-3790 / 1151.

NYIT Magazine (successor to TechLink)

Launched in 2002, as successor to TechLink, NYIT Magazine is the official publication of New York Institute of Technology. Issues feature the news from NYIT's global campuses, student success stories and profiles of top graduates and professors. Historically, this publication has been printed three times a year and has been available online at http://www.nyit.edu/magazine. In addition to the most current issues, a limited number of BACK ISSUES are available online. A complete run of ALL print issues is available in the Wisser Library's Periodicals Department / (516) 686-3790 / 1151.

Of special interest: 

50 Years. NYIT Magazine, 50th Anniversary Issue, volume 4, no. 1 (An excellent historical source: ask at the Wisser Library Reference Desk.)

The (annual) NYIT President's Report

Published two or three times annually, starting in 2002. Available online HERE, including archived past reports. PRINT copies are available in the Wisser Library Periodicals Department. Phone: (516) 686-3790 / 1151.

A Historical Treasure: The NYIT 40th Anniversary Calendar

The NYIT 40th Anniversary Calendar is a gold mine of historical landmarks -- with short month-by-month blurbs delineating important events in the College's first 40 years of existence. Sample November 1995 pages appear below. This calendar is available at the Wisser Library Circulation Desk. It resides on the top shelf above the Reserve books.

Archived Clippings & Historical Miscellany

Ad Hoc Archives / Newspaper clippings, brochures, announcements, and more...

Folders of random historical items re:  NYIT, roughly organizing content by decade, reside in the Wisser Library's Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) watched over by Joan Baron Drury. For more information about this potpourri treasure, contact the CMC (Joan), at 516-686-7625, or the Wisser Library Reference Desk, at 516-686-7657/7658.

 

Librarian

Eduardo Rivera's picture
Eduardo Rivera
Contact:
Wisser Library
Northern Blvd - 8000
New York Institute of Technology
Old Westbury, NY 11568-8000
Room 109
516-686-1154
© 2016 New York Institute of Technology