Skip to main content

Research Basics - Rivera: Find Journal Articles

Step 1. Pick a Database

If you know which database you would like to use, select ALL DATABASES. This will bring you to an alphabetical listing of all of our databases. 

If you do not know which database to use, click the SELECT YOUR SUBJECT drop-down menu. Match your topic to a corresponding subject area and we will recommend databases to you based upon your topic. 

 

Step 2. Save Time with Pre-Search Strategies

View in full-screen for best results. 

Step 3. Search the Database

Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database, so it's a great place to start no matter what your research topic might be. Here's how to begin your search in the databases. 

Step 1. Enter your keywords in the search fields. Click SEARCH

Step 2. Browse your results or limit further by using the the limiters on the side bar. 

General Databases

 

The following databases are multi-disciplinary and will retrieve articles on almost any topic.

Many offer the option to limit searches to articles found in scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.

Academic OneFile: General database with articles and reviews

Academic Search Complete: Useful articles on a variety of topics

ProQuest Central: Excellent database with plenty of Psychology articles

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints In ContextCovers today’s social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, from health care to immigration.

CQ ResearcherReporting and analysis on issues in the news.

Database List: Click here for more databases arranged by subject

Boolean Operator Cheat Sheet

AND narrows searches by combining terms. 

ex. college AND debt

OR broadens searches by finding either of the terms between which it appears.

ex. college OR higher education

NOT narrows searches by excluding the term after which it appears.

ex. college NOT loans

For complex searches, use parentheses:

INCORRECT: college OR higher education AND debt OR loans NOT Pell Grants

CORRECT: (college OR higher education) AND (debt OR loans) NOT Pell Grants

© 2016 New York Institute of Technology