Skip to main content

ARCH 501 Kim 2018/2019: Art and Design Research

Welcome!

Contact the Art/Architecture Library  with any comments and of course -- questions.
Sign up for a research appointment.
Ed Hall Library:  516-686-7579

  • Use the Library website to search the print collections, databases, visual resources from primitive ancient cave paintings to data visualization and maps.  Preview a Research Guide to discover digital resources and services selected for the design disciplines
  • Locate course reserves, assigned by your instructor.  
  • Your NYIT username and password allows for 24/7 remote access to these services. 
  • Complete assignments, study or meet in small groups, at large tables or study carrels, comfortable seating, and/or collaborative workstations.  
  • 8 precision workstations optimized for design software for architectural rendering, 3D modeling and graphic presentation.
  • 21 additional workstations for general work and research.
  • 6  flatbed scanners and
  • 1 large format scanner. 

 

Books

Architecture and Design Databases

Use these databases to search deep indexing of design journal and monographs.

Click on any link below to open a database. If you are off campus, enter your NYIT ID when prompted. 

Loading ...

Something About Books. . .

The vast majority of Art, Architecture, and Design knowledge are not available through Google. You may find the book or article online but will need to obtain a physical copy to access all the information. Copyright restrictions protect creators and designers. Not all quality material will be found via the Open Web.

Journals and Books: While art and architecture journals are available to search digitally, often the full text databases such as ArtSource, Avery Index and Architecture Publications Index, and JSTOR, contain only the text and not the high-quality reproductions. 
- Summary based on "Why You Need to Come to Haas Arts Library" by Lindsay King, http://guides.library.yale.edu/artsebooks, accessed 2/16/17.

Locate Text and Images

Identify a Keyword Strategy

1. Breakdown the concept,

Ex: "Investigate Chicago Tribune Project by Adolf Loos"
Loos AND Chicago

2. Choose your sources carefully. Start with one listed below.​​

3. Use the hyperlinks within the search results. Read the details about each source to understand what a source -- book, article, or image is about.  Information about the source will also give you clues to help find material

4. Use  filters in the left hand column to find just what you need.

Date . . .
Location. . .
Geography. . .

Subject . . .

5. Read the descriptive text again to learn the source location.

6. Repeat across more than one database.

 

Search Strategically

  • OneSearch is the NYIT catalog, which will connect you to all the materials available to NYIT Students, faculty and Staff. 
  • WorldCat connects you to materials in libraries across the world. Many resources may only be accessed by subscription. Students, faculty, and staff may access these materials off campus using a proxy server. You will need to enter your NYIT username and password.
© 2019 New York Institute of Technology