Skip to main content

DSGN 382_Spring 2019: Visual Resources

Introduction to Visual Resources

Visual Resources includes databases for exploring visual information such as photographs, maps, artworks, designs, architectural drawings, videos and any other collections of information that includes pictures and information about those pictures.

This Page Section Includes Visual Information Sources in these specialized areas,

Virtual Reality Workshops in the Art & Architecture Library

Explore Virtual Reality Image Capture and Presentation for Site Analysis

When capturing 360 images or footage.

  • Keep You and the subjects distant from the camera. Take 'personal space' of at least 3 feet into account.
  • Try to keep the light evenly over the lenses.
  • Keep the action at the 'front' lens.

Part 1: Introducing Google StreetView 360 Capture and Editing.

  • Download Google Photos
  • Download Google Streetview, log in using your @nyit.edu account.
  • Open the Camera on your Phone or link to the 360 Camera on Hand. 
  • Capture Your surroundings or Explore other Locations using the maps.
  • View these 360 locations with the Oculus Go, Oculus Rift or the Google Cardboard.
  • Additional Imagery may be historical photos or maps. 

When capturing 360 images or footage.

  • Keep You and the subjects distant from the camera. Take 'personal space' of at least 3 feet into account.
  • Try to keep the light evenly over the lenses.
  • Keep the action at the 'front' lens.

Part 2: StoryMaps, to photograph and narrate a scene for a VR presentation.

  • In order to use your 360 images in StoryMaps, upload them to your flickr account. Use your @nyit.edu login for easy login.
  • Gather relevant demographic information and Community Research.
  •  StoryMaps and create an account with your @nyit.edu email.
  • Select a "Tour" format to start your narrative. 
  • Use the maps to identify the relevant locations for your site.
  • Example StoryMap Tour. 

Explore Virtual Reality Content Editing

April 3rd - Workshop 3: VR Visualization and Mapping. Design students use mapping and data visualization in order to develop research questions for architectural problems. Students look at climate, culture, and demographics. Virtual Reality provides a new way to explore and present these findings. In this final workshop, students will have the opportunity to explore tools such as Pair, GoogleVR, and Mind Map AR. After a demonstration, have the opportunity to complete a mock assignment.

Loading ...

Born Digital Art

  • ArchDaily
    http://www.archdaily.com/
    Blog-format publication featuring articles on contemporary architecture. 
    Often includes building plans for featured projects.
  • Archnet Digital Library (MIT)
    http://www.archnet.org
    Islamic architecture image library of historic and contemporary buildings and sites and general views. Offered by MIT School of Architecture and Planning and University of Texas at Austin School of Architecture, in cooperation with the Aga Khan Trust for Culture.
  • Cities and Buildings Database, University Libraries, University of Washington.
    http://content.lib.washington.edu/buildingsweb/index.htm
    "...A collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world...It has grown steadily...with contributions from a wide range of scholars, and contains images ranging from New York to Central Asia, from African villages, to the Parc de la Villette, and conceptual sketches and models of Frank Gehry's Experience Music Project. These have all been scanned from original slides or drawn from documents in the public domain...freely available...for use in the classroom, student study, or for individual research purposes."
  • Bildindex der Kunst und Architektur (Germany)
    Extensive image collection from throughout Europe.
  • HABS, HAER, and HALS
    http://www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/hh/
    "Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. Since 2000, documentation from the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) has been added to the holdings. The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes..."
  • Pacific Coast Architecture Database (PCAD)
    http://digital.lib.washington.edu/architect/
    "...Range of information on the buildings and designers of California, Oregon and Washington. Building records are tied to those of their creators (when known) and include historical and geographical information and images."
  • Philadelphia Architects and Buildings.
    http://www.philadelphiabuildings.org/pab/
    A project supported by the William Penn Foundation. "...Provides authoritative information on three centuries of Philadelphia buildings and designers, incorporating data and images from the collections of more than 25 Philadelphia-area repositories."
  • RIBApix--British Architectural Library (Royal Institute of British Architects)
    http://www.ribapix.com/index.php
    Public access image database featuring world architecture of all periods, interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction and the decorative arts. Browse or use the simple, advanced search (architect or building), or subject search. 

    "All images...copyright of the Royal Institute of British Architects, but low resolution copies may be downloaded free of charge for personal use or teaching purposes. Higher resolution files suitable for most types of publication or prints for private use may be ordered through this site."
  • The Great Buildings Collection
    http://www.greatbuildings.com/
    1000 buildings documented with images, text, and references.
Loading ...
© 2016 New York Institute of Technology