Executive MBA (EMBA): Databases

Search market research.

• Statista – Access over 1 million statistics and facts.
• Business Source Complete – Searches for articles on consumer behavior.

Search for company information.

• PrivCo – Private company information for predominantly U.S. firms.
• EDGAR – SEC filings.

Search for U.S. industry classifications.

• North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
• Standard Industrial Classification (-2004) (SIC)

Search for U.S. patents.

• Google Advanced Patent Search
• USPTO Patent Public Search Webpage
• USPTO Patent Public Search tool

Search for dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Dictionaries

• Oxford English Dictionary – 100s of dictionaries in many subject areas.

Encyclopedias

• Access Science Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
• Britannica
• Credo Reference

Learn a Language

• Mango (NYPL) – Learn languages through conversations, movies, and other exercises.
• Duolingo – Learn a language by translating web pages.

Learn a Skill

• LinkedInLearning – LinkedIn Learning, formerly known as Lynda.com, is an online educational site that features 1000s of courses and video tutorials where you can discover, complete, and track courses related to your field and interests.

Search for career resources.

• Occupational Outlook Handbook
• O*Net Online – Very helpful when writing a resume or cover letter.

Search for statistics.

• Statista – Access to over one million statistics and facts.
• UNCTAD Statistics - More than 150 indicators and statistical time series essential for the analysis  of:  trade, economic trends, population and more.
• UNData – Contains over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, and more.
• World Bank: Global Consumption Database – Data on household consumption patterns in developing countries.
• World Bank Open Data – Maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases.