Skip to main content

BIOL 335, Dr. Eleni Nikitopoulos: Home

NYIT Library Databases

NYIT students and faculty have access to over 200 library databases. The NYIT Library subscribe to a wide range of databases to support your research needs, including encyclopedia databases, newspaper databases, statistical databases, and academic journal research databases. 

Library Databases are a good place to find credible and trustworthy information for your research. Below, you will find the recommended databases for your BIOL 335 course. 

Academic Journal/Research Article Database

Background Information/Topic Overview

Newspaper Database

InfoTrac Newsstand Search Tips

Use the "Publication Search" function if you would like to search for news articles from one particular newspaper.

If you perform a normal basic search, the database will draw from all available newspaper. Click on "Advanced' if you want to combine keywords using boolean connectors.

Statistical Database

Statista Search Tips

Keep an eye on the small icon next to the article titles in the search result 

 you will receive a single statistical table if you click on an article with this icon.

  you will receive comprehensive studies and reports that include a number of data tables on a given topic by clicking on an article with this icon.

*On the left-hand side of the result page, under "Studies and Report," click on "Dossier" if you are looking for a comprehensive statistical study

Accessing Library Databases

*Login required (with your MyNYIT login) for off-campus access. No login required if you are trying to access the databases from school computers or Wifi.

Need Research Help?

Trying to figure out what databases to use for your research can be overwhelming. If you ever need help with your research:

  • Stop by the library and ask for a librarian
  • Email or Chat with a NYIT Librarian using the following link: http://libanswers.nyit.edu/
© 2016 New York Institute of Technology