LibGuides: Edgar Allan Poe, 1809-1849: Articles & Databases

What's Your Angle?

The angle from which you approach your topic will help you to decide which database will best meet your research needs.

Database Searching Tips & Tricks

Tip #1: Think of as many synonyms and related terms as possible for your topic. Scholars and journalists may use different words to describe similar ideas, so searching with multiple keywords will ensure that you do not miss out on relevant material just because it employs different terms.

Tip #2: For quick, effective searching, utilize Boolean operators.

AND = Narrows your search. Will return results in which terms appear together. e.g., Media AND Elections
OR = Broadens your search. Will return results in which either term appears. e.g., Media OR Elections
NOT = Narrows your search. Will return results in which a specified term is excluded. e.g., Media NOT elections

Literature Databases

Looking for criticism on Poe's works?

Check out the literature databases below.

Artemis Literary Sources
Artemis is an interface which allows you to search the Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, and the Literature Resource Center simultaneously.
Bloom’s Literary reference Online
Biography, criticism, and videos in literature from ancient Greece to the present.

Social Science Databases

Researching aspects of Poe's works like depression or addiction?

You might want to try our social science databases, too.

PyscARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This database provides users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.

Librarian

NYIT Library

Email Me