Skip to main content

Psychology: Databases

Databases, ejournals, ebooks and websites for psychology.

On This Page

 

This page is a guide to databases in psychology and related fields.  These resources are the best place to begin your search.  The contents are peer reviewed, academic quality resources available 24/7 from both on and off campus.  To access off campus you need your NYIT username and password


Introduction

The American Psychological Association defines psychology broadly as the study of the mind and behavior.  The purpose of this Psychology Guide is to direct users toward academic quality resources on psychology from a variety of resources, including databases, e-books, e-journals, websites, and RSS feeds.

The databases listed below provide access to journal articles, electronic texts, and other reliable sources of information on psychology topics. Since there are many different aspects to psychology, recommended databases come from a variety of subject areas:

  • Psychology literature: PsychArticles; Psychology Journals; Mental Measurements Yearbook
  • Health Sciences Literature: Allied & Complementary Medicine; CINAHL; Encyclopedia of Life Sciences; Health Reference Center; Nursing & Allied Health Source; OVID Medline; PubMed
  • Education: Education Research Complete; ERIC
  • Social Sciences Literature: SocIndex with Fulltext; SIRS Knowledge Source; Ethnic News Watch; Gender Watch

These are a good place to begin your search.  For off campus access, please use your NYIT username and password.

 

Multidisciplinary Databases

These multidisciplinary databases list thousands of academic-quality journal articles on a wide variety of topics that include psychology and psychology-related topics.

Librarian

Eduardo Rivera's picture
Eduardo Rivera
Contact:
Wisser Library
Northern Blvd - 8000
New York Institute of Technology
Old Westbury, NY 11568-8000
Room 100A
516.686.1154
© 2019 New York Institute of Technology