ARCH 222: Architectural Technology

Each section covers a specific research area. The scope includes contemporary issues as well as perspectives that remain important and close at hand. If you want to know more on a critical topic, For assistance, Book a research appointment with a librarians. 

Guidance for this section comes from committees and task forces including:

- ARLIS/NA Diversity and Inclusion Committee
- NYIT DEI Task Force

What is Design Research?

'Research that is undertaken by architects (and designers) and their collaborators in the course of a project; and

'Research that is done by architects and others, in practice and academia, outside the scope of architectural projects. "
- Royal Institute of British Architects, (2014). Architects and research-based knowledge: A literature review. (pdf)  

Essential Reading

• Bucsescu, Dan, and Michael Eng. Looking Beyond the Structure: Critical Thinking for Designers and Architects. New York: Fairchild, 2010.
• Landscape architecture research : inquiry, strategy, design

• Building knowledge in architecture

• Architectural research methods

• Evidence Based Design: A Process for Research and Writing

Break out information by select keywords - Answer the following:
What is the architect(s) name? What is the name of the building? Note this may change over time. 
What are the building's purpose and type? Expand and repeat this search across multiple sources. 

• Refer to Architecture & Design databases for information on Buildings and Structures. The Open Web is ok to start but understand you are getting results that are commercial, lack depth, and often hold poor reproductions.
• Complete this worksheet to build your search. 
• Use this template to compile the source list and bibliography.

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Library Resources for Materials Course DSGN - Fall 2021

Databases for Materials Research:

Material Order

Science Database Proquest

Home Improvement Collection

eBook Engineering Core

Materials Properties Visualization from Access Engineering

Find and compare material property data, then save your interactive visualizations and share with others.

Web Resources

Architerials 

AZoM The A to Z of Materials 

The Connected Collection

CORE-Materials 

Core77

Cradle to Cradle

Healthy Materials Lab

Hello Materials Blog 

Lugher Texture

Material District

Mindful Materials

Picular [Google but for colors]

Rematerialise Eco Smart Materials

Sweets Catalog 

Textures

Transmaterial 

Books and Ebooks

- LINK to ebooks on Green Building Materials
- LEED Materials

Bibliography

....

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Recommend a Purchase

Click to view the SoAD Faculty Publications 

Continually updated resource maintained by Art & Architecture Library Student Assistants. Highlighting faculty publications inspires students who go on to contribute critical ideas and further human understanding. 

Related Information Competencies students of architecture, art & design acquire:

 "Recognize the field’s authorities and be able to critique and interpret these authorities with an awareness of disciplinary, historical, and cultural constructions of expertise"

 "differentiate between scholarly/academic, promotional, and trade/consumer art writing"

 An awareness of "contributions to the discipline through their scholarly output and practices"

Image Credit: Lawrence OP. Handing on the Torch of Knowledge. Accessed Jan. 12, 2022.
Art Libraries Society of North America. Art, Architecture, and Design Information Competencies (June 2018). Accessed Jan 12, 2022.

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Recommend a Purchase

View the SoAD Lectures and Events Bibliographies. 

Related Information Competencies for Architecture, Art & Design Students:

- recognize the field’s authorities and be able to critique and interpret these authorities with an awareness of disciplinary, historical, and cultural constructions of expertise"

- locate and organize opportunities and resources related to professional practices such as residencies and exhibitions

- develop an awareness of "contributions to the discipline through their scholarly output and practices

- Art Libraries Society of North America. Art, Architecture, and Design Information Competencies (June 2018). Accessed Jan 12, 2022.

• The Native Land Digital’s territory and treaty map inspires us with the vast impact of peoples and places occupied across the world. Understand the  relationships between various tribes and communities, how they shared lands, and how they may have shared architectural practices.

• ---

  Where Are My People? Native American, First Nations & Indigenous in Architecture. Report