The New York State Library in Albany, NY collects, preserves and makes available materials that support State government work and document NYS history. 
NYS Library - Digital Collections
Search NYSL Digital Collections
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
The New York State Library began digitizing New York State government documents in 1995. Today the State Library's Digital Collections includes a substantial number of New York State publications, both contemporary materials from 1995 to the present and selected State publications from earlier years.
In addition, the Digital Collections include some historical materials from the 18th through the early 20th century in many subject areas, including the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, Native American materials, New York State laws and natural history. While books make up the core collection, Digital Collections also include primary source materials such as letters, diaries and rare manuscripts as well as maps, music scores, and other visual materials.
Newer State documents in this collection are generally "born digital," while older items, whether State documents or historical items, have been scanned from original copies located in the State Library.
All are made freely available online, usually as PDF documents. (Copyright and Use Statement)
Search NYSL Digital Collections
Catalog: Search for books and other materials held by the New York State Library, including Manuscripts and Special Collections, and the New York State Archives.
Databases, Indexes & Reference Sources (listed by subject): These resources, including NOVEL databases, are available onsite at the State Library and remotely to registered borrowers with a valid New York State Library card with a P or R number.
E-Journals and E-Books: Search the library's collection of full-text eJournals and eBooks by title, ISSN/ISBN, or browse by subject. This collection is available for the public to access onsite using the Library's computers available on the 7th floor. Remote access is available to registered borrowers with a valid Borrower Card (beginning with "P") and PIN.
Internet Bibliographies: Browse Web sites selected and annotated by Library staff and organized by topic.
Find Your Public Library by: Community Name | Library Name | Public Library System | Senate or Assembly District |
Find Online Public Access Catalogs (OPACs) by New York State Public Library System |
Bibliostat Connect -- provides New York data back to 1991 from the Annual Report for Public and Association Libraries and the latest data from the Federal State Cooperative System (FSCS) and the Public Library Data Service (PLDS) for all public libraries in the nation. |
Other Resources |
