Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Tech Returns: What to know about using NYIT Libraries for Summer 2021. View the latest information

Science: Reference Books

Key information resources supportive of science research.

About these Resources

Some of the best Library resources are *PRINT items. Many of the science reference tools listed here, encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc., can be found on the shelves of the NYIT Library in the locations indicated by call number.. Other items listed here are electronic/online resources (e-books).

*The Library has photocopiers, but you'll need print credit or flex funds on (associated with) your NYIT ID (student, faculty, staff) to use them. Cost: 10, 15 or 25 cents per copy, depending on bxw, color, one-sided, two-sided, etc.

Reference Resources (Books) / Print & Electronic

The following multi-subject SCIENCE *reference resources are a great place to start gathering solid background information on almost ANY science topic. Though substantially representative of Library holdings, this is only a PARTIAL list.

Want more eBooks, accessible online? The eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) is an entire database of electronic books, many of them reference. Search our EBSCOhost eBook collection HERE


TITLE **CALL NO. LOCATION
Chambers Science and Technology Dictionary
Ref. Q123 .C482 OW
Biographical Dictionary of Scientists
Ref. Q141 .B528 OW
Encyclopedia of Global Warming Science and Technology ONLINE
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology Ref. Q123 .E497 OW
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics Ref. Q175.35 .E53    OW
Encyclopedia of the Solar System QB501 .E53 OW / NYC
Encyclopedia of the Solar System ONLINE
International Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Ref. Q121 .I48 OW
  
McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science & Technology ONLINE
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms
Ref. Q123 .M15 OW
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms ONLINE
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science & Engineering Ref. GE10 .M38 OW
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Ref. Q121 .M3 OW / NYC
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (Access Science) ONLINE
Milestones in Science and Technology:  The Ready Reference to Discoveries, Inventions, and Facts  Ref. Q199 .M68 OW
  
Philosophy of Science:  An Encyclopedia Q174.7 .P55 OW
Science and Its Times  Q175 .46 .S35 OW
Science in the Contemporary World: An Encyclopedia ONLINE
Scientific Thought: In Context Ref. Q175 .S4238 OW
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia Ref. Q121 .V3 OW
World of Physics Ref. QC5 .W67 OW / NYC

*The above PRINT reference books do NOT circulate and are for IN-LIBRARY use only. To find CIRCULATING books, which you CAN borrow, consult the NYIT online catalog BEARCAT.

**If you browse among these call numbers on Library shelves, you'll find many additional science resources in print format.
© 2020 New York Institute of Technology