LibGuides: Nursing: Databases

Databases

Below are some databases you may find relevant throughout your studies. Keep in mind what you will be researching and use the sections to guide your database choices. It is also a good practice to search for topics in mulltiple databases.

Through NY Tech, you have access to even more databases than those listed below. Check out our list of Health Sciences Databases to see what else we have to offer.

Articles

Need help finding an article? Use our Article Finder—just input a DOI or PMID (PubMed ID) and a link to the PDF of the article or the article request form will appear.

PubMed
PubMed is the most user-friendly database for overall biomedical literature.
⭐️ ProQuest: Nursing & Allied Health
This database provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
⭐️ CINAHL
This is the gold standard database for nursing research. Provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and so on.
Ovid
contains biomedical databases
Scopus
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Search and access research from the science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities fields.

Evidence-Based Medicine

Cochrane Collection
An essential source of high quality healthcare data including the following databases: CDSR, CCCT, Cocrane Methodology Register, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
UpToDate
includes access to over 8,500 topics in 17 specialties

Drugs

Micromedex
Includes a wide range of clinical databases, including unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.

eBooks

⭐️ NY Tech Catalog
Our institution's book catalog that combines access to our physical and ebooks across publishers in one convenient place.
ClinicalKey
Access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals, thousands of videos and millions of images.
eBook Clinical Collection
This subscription collection features nearly 2,000 hand-selected, quality titles that focus on medical specialties, nursing, allied health, and general practice areas.
Access Medicine
access to more than 60 medical titles, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools
LWW Health Library, Premium Basic Science
Covers scientific principles and concepts in meidcine to support the education and training of students and residents, as well as those already in professional practice.

Images

⭐️ Visual DX
The knowledge and recommendations here are based on best available evidence ordered according to standard industry protocols, interpreted by expert opinion.
Medical Images Guide
View our guide on where to find medical images for many more resources.

Database Help

Below are some llinks to external resources on how to use some of our databases. For more personalized help, you can always schedule an appointment with us or email us with any of your questions.

Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice
This self-paced course through the NIH's National Library of Medicine is geared specifically to nurses and can be completed in less than 30 minutes. It is designed to help nurses efficiently find literature using PubMed.
PubMed Made Simple
Our guide on how to use PubMed for basic and advanced searching, how to quickly access articles through LibKey Nomad, and managing your search results.