Business and Management Resources:

The NYIT Electronic Library

                         

                         The NYIT Library Homepage is https://www.nyit.edu/library

 

      E-books, databases and the full text journal locator require you to log in with your NYIT

      Connect username and password when accessed from off-campus.   Resources include:

     

• E-Books – The full texts of electronic books are available and searchable.

          Boolean searching of the NYIT Library Catalog (using logical operators such

          as AND, OR, NOT) may be performed in both the Basic and Advanced versions.

 

To limit retrieval only to electronic books:

       1.  Select the "Books & Media" tab on the Library Homepage.

2.  Select the “Advanced Search” link.

3.  Fill in the relevant search boxes and make menu selections as needed.     

4.  Select the “NYIT Online Library” option from the “Library:” dropdown menu.

5.  Select the “Search” button to retrieve your prepared list of e-books.

 

• Databases –These subscription services provide free access to abstracts and full text

   from numerous newspaper, magazine and journal articles and to financial data that

                may not be accessible using Google.

       To select and access individual databases:

1. Click the “Articles & Databases” tab on the Library Homepage.
2. Choose “Business” from the “Select your subject” dropdown menu or

select “Search All” for an alphabetical listing of all NYIT databases.  The following database listings include most, but not all, NYIT holdings:                                                                                                     

                                 

Article & Text Databases

   ABI/INFORM Collection  (ProQuest Central) – Journals, newspapers, regional

publications, dissertations

   Accounting & Tax  (ProQuest Central)

   Asian & European Business Collection  (ProQuest Central)          

   Business Insights: Essentials  (Gale) – Company and industry information

   Business Market Research Collection  (ProQuest Central)

                Business Source Complete  (EBSCO)

   Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database  (ProQuest Central)

   CCH Internet Research Network – Human resources, health laws

   Emerald Insight - Abstracts from nearly 300 journals; also covers books, case studies

   Hospitality & Tourism Complete  (EBSCO)

   Insurance & Liability Collection  (Gale)

   Nexis Uni –  Formerly LexisNexis - “News” section includes articles from blogs,

transcripts, trade journals, newswires, newspapers, etc.

   New York Times  (ProQuest Central > “Publications” tab) - 1980 to present

   Small Business Collection  (Gale)

   Vocations & Careers Collection  (Gale)

   Wall Street Journal – 1984 to present;  Historical – 1923 to 2001

             

Financial and Corporate Information Databases

    Advertising Redbooks

    Business Insights:Essentials (Gale)

    Hoover’s Company Records (ProQuest Central)

    Nexis Uni – “Companies” section for directory, statistical information         

    Morningstar Investment Research Center – Company, funds, investments data

    Privco – Private company reports

    Statista – Over 18,000 reports and statistical series; many are business related

       

• Bloomberg Terminals –  Provide huge quantities of business and economic data; much

    of it in real time.One terminal is available at the School of Management,

Manhattan Campus; the second at the , Long Island Campus.

 

• One Search – The default tab “One Search” on the Library Homepage, permits one to

   simultaneously search both the Library Catalog and nearly all of the NYIT Library

subscription databases.

 

• Full Text Journal Holdings – Select the “Journals” tab on the Library Homepage.  Enter

key words from your (not the article title) to

obtain a holdings list, if available, for that publication title.If live links include the

needed dates, the full text holdings can be accessed online.

 

• Subject Guides – Select the “Guides” tab on the Library Homepage.  These librarian-

   produced guides provide access points and lists of resources within various fields.

Business-related guides include:1)2) Business & Management

3) Canadian Business4) Careers5) Economics6) Marketing & Advertising

7) Hospitality Industry  8) Nonprofit Organization 9) Statistics

 

• Citing Sources –  Click the "Research Assistance" link (left column of the Library

   Homepage) and then click the option.One can then access

various style manuals and documentation guides in widespread use such as

and .Major online database vendors, such as ProQuest and

EBSCOHost, also provide

in a variety of style formats commonly used in academic research.

 

Compiled by Jeffrey Feinsilver, Reference Librarian, Long Island Library, NYIT(Updated 1/5/2019)