Communication Arts: Advertising, Marketing & PR

"In "The Persuaders," FRONTLINE explores how the cultures of marketing and advertising have come to influence not only what Americans buy, but also how they view themselves and the world around them. The 90-minute documentary draws on a range of experts and observers of the advertising/marketing world, to examine how, in the words of one on-camera commentator, "the principal of democracy yields to the practice of demography," as highly customized messages are delivered to a smaller segment of the market."

"The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University. The advertisements are from the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in Duke University's Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library."

"As the 20th century was coming to a close, Advertising Age in 1999 launched a major project to chronicle the history of the era's advertising industry. The years from 1900 to 1999 were, in fact, when the advertising business came of age as a core economic and cultural force that shaped much of our daily life as well as the identity of our society."

"The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized, allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television.

AdViews is a collaborative project between the Digital Collections Program and the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History, as well as a number of other groups, at Duke University."

"The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 (EAA) presents over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials, drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University, provide a significant and informative perspective on the early evolution of this most ubiquitous feature of modern American business and culture."

"This four-part series [from 2007] looks at the world of advertising -- the ethical and legal challenges posed by digital media and the Internet, the explosion of viral ads and what experts predict for the future." Created by National Public Radio.

"KnowThis.com is committed to providing quality information and valuable tools for business professionals, academics and students of marketing and related fields."

"Arbitron Inc. (NYSE: ARB) is a media and marketing research firm serving the media—radio, television, cable and out-of-home—as well as advertisers and advertising agencies. Arbitron’s core businesses are measuring network and local-market radio audiences across the United States; surveying the retail, media and product patterns of local market consumers; and providing application software used for analyzing media audience and marketing information data."

"AudienceSCAN provides marketing research for audience optimization. "

"ComScore is a global leader in measuring the digital world and the preferred source of digital marketing intelligence. Through a powerful combination of behavioral and survey insights, comScore enables clients to better understand, leverage and profit from the rapidly evolving worldwide web and mobile arena."

An international media measurement firm that measures and creates data from different forms of media for the purpose of marketing and advertising endeavors.