LibGuides: Nutrition: Databases

This page is a guide to databases in medical and allied health topics, with information on nutrition or related to nutrition. These resources are the best place to begin your search. The contents are peer reviewed, academic quality resources available 24/7 from both on and off campus. To access off campus you need your NYIT username and password.

Live Chat!

Quick Info!

Library Home Page
Library Catalog
eBooks & eJournals
Find a Journal

Off-Campus Access
Formatting Research Papers
Configuring Laptops for Wireless

Search BearCat

Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries.

Introduction

This purpose of this Nutrition Guide is to direct users toward academic quality nutrition resources from a variety of resources, including databases, e-books, e-journals, websites, and RSS feeds. Topics include diet, vitamins, fats, and metabolism, as well as nutrition resources for infants, children, adolescents, and seniors, and resources for nutritional management of a variety of disorders and diseases.

The databases listed below provide access to journal articles, electronic texts, and other reliable sources of information on nutrition topics. These are a good place to begin your search.

Allied & Complementary Medicine (AMED)
AMED, a bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library covers a selection of journals in: physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, speech and language therapy, and podiatry; complementary medicine; and palliative care.
CINAHL
CINAHL, the Cumulated Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, is a comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 760 journals.
Health Reference Center
Integrates millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters and select consumer
health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.
Micromedex
Micromedex contains unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care and alternative medicine.
OVID Medline
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is the premier bibliographic database containing over 16 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
PubMed
Search engine developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) to serach the MEDLINE database. MEDLINE is the index to the biomedical literature produced by NLM.
Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source
Provides indexing for nearly 200 sports medicine and rehabilitation journals as well as access to the full text for 20 book titles and selected trade publications and magazines.
Scopus
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Search and access research from the science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities fields.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These multidisciplinary databases list thousands of academic-quality journal articles on a wide variety of topics that include nutrition and nutrition-related topics.

Academic Search Complete
Offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including: animal science, anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, science, mathematics, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, and psychology.
Proquest Central
This multidisciplinary database, with much of the journal content available in full text, includes health information, including health policy, medical conditions, mental health, nursing, and substance abuse.

Librarian

Jeanne Strausman

Email Me

Contact:

Chief Medical Librarian
NYIT/College of Osteopathic Medicine

516.686.3779

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medical, Nursing

Nutrition: Databases