Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Tech Returns: What to know about using NYIT Libraries for Spring 2022. View the latest information

Mobile Medical Online Resources: Apps Via Medical Library

Mobile apps and resources for physicians, biomedical researchers, nurses, and other medical professionals. The guide includes selected Apps for Android, and iPhone devices.

Apps Via Medical Library

The databases listed below require specific installation in order to access on your mobile devices. For viewing the instruction for each resource, click on the title of the database you need.

AccessMedicine

To access the app, begin by registering for MyAccess account:

  1. Go to AccessMedicine via the library webpage, Health Sciences Databases.
  2. On the AccessMedicine home page, click on the New York Institute of Technology link in the upper right hand corner of the screen (see the image below).
  3. Select Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile.
  4. Complete the registration form.
  5. Visit App Store or Google Play, to download the AccessMedicine app on your device.
  6. Log in with your MyAccess username and password.

In order to maintain uninterrupted access, you must log in to your MyAccess account from any on-site NYIT or NYIT/COM computer at least once every 90 days.

BrowZine

BrowZine App is available to all students, Faculty and through the NYIT libraries. BrowZine consolidates scholarly journals from multiple platforms onto your mobile device on current and back issues of Journals to 2005.

  1. Access BrowZine via NYIT Libraries from your device.
  2. Download the BrowZine app from App Store or Google Play.

Note: When you open BrowZine for the first time, you will see a list of schools, please select NYIT/College of Osteopathic Medicine; then, enter your proxy ID and Password (email username and password).

CINAHL by EBSCOhost

EBSCO offers an app for accessing EBSCOhost from your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) and Android devices. Download the app from App Store or Google Play.

After downloading the EBSCOhost app, it must be authenticated from NYIT EBSCOhost platform.
To authenticate the EBSCOhost app:

  1. Click the EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link at the bottom of the page and enter your email address.
  2. An email with an authentication key is sent to you.
  3. Access the email from your device and click the link found in the email to authenticate the application.

You have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.

NotesOnce it is authenticated, the app can be used for nine months, after which you must send yourself a new authentication key from the EBSCOhost interface.

The app is authenticated to the profile from which you emailed yourself the authentication key. To access a different profile from the app, click the EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link from within the new profile and complete the authentication steps.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions. To get a basic understanding of how to navigate the site, click on ClinicalKey Video Tutorial.

Follow the steps below to access ClinicalKey from anywhere at anytime.

Register for a User Profile

  1. Visit ClinicalKey via the library Health Sciences Databases, and click to Register (demonstrated in the image below).
  2. Create Your Username and Password. Use your NYIT email address as your username.
  3. Your chosen password: 
    -Does not require the use of special characters.
    -Must be between 5 and 20 characters long.
    -Is case sensitive.
  4. Click Register to receive a confirmation email.

 

Activate Remote Access

  • Click on the three horizontal lines to open a sub-menu and apply for Remote Access(Please see the image below).
  • Enter your NYIT Email and click continue to generate an activation email.
  • Open the Activation Email within 60 minutes and click the Activate Remote Access link.

Micromedex

  1. Select Micromedex 2.0 from the list of Health Sciences Databases.
  2. You launch on Micromedex Web Application Access page.
  3. Click on the Micromedex Button
  4. Under the "Resources", click on "Download Mobile Apps".
  5. Follow the steps as you are being instructed. You must use your NYIT Email.

Up-to-Date

UpToDate Mobile Access

  • Go to UpToDate via Medical Library, Health Sciences Databases.
  • Click on New York Institute of Technology User at the right hand above the page to open the menu under the tab (see the image below), then click on "Register", fill in all the fields, and create a username and password for UpToDate Mobile Access, then submit the registration form.
  • Download the free app from the App StoreGoogle Play.
  • Log in with the UpToDate username and password created during the registration process.
  • UpToDate requires that you verify your affiliation with NYIT by logging in to UpToDate from a computer connected to the NYIT network at least once every three months. The mobile app will notify you when you need to verify your affiliation.

Visual DX

VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system. Clinicians can build a custom differential diagnosis across general medicine, and use the search function to access patient-specific clinical information or the best medical images.

Explore the features of VisualDx click on Video Tutorials.

How to register for the VisualDx Mobile App?

  1. Access VisualDx via Health Sciences Database link on Medical Library Home page.
  2. Scroll down to "Get the Mobile App"  on VisualDx home page.
  3. Click "Get the Mobile App" and fill out the information to create a personal account. Use your NYIT Email username but not the same password. The VisualDx verifies your affiliation with the institution.
  4. Download the app from App Store or Google Play, and Sign In with your own personal account.

© 2020 New York Institute of Technology