LibGuides: History: Articles & Databases

Database Searching Tips & Tricks

Tip #1: Think of as many synonyms and related terms as possible for your topic. Scholars and journalists may use different words to describe similar ideas, so searching with multiple keywords will ensure that you do not miss out on relevant material just because it employs different terms.

Tip #2: For quick, effective searching, utilize Boolean operators.

AND = Narrows your search. Will return results in which terms appear together. e.g., Media AND Elections
OR = Broadens your search. Will return results in which either term appears. e.g., Media OR Elections
NOT = Narrows your search. Will return results in which a specified term is excluded. e.g., Media NOT elections

History Databases

American History: Facts on File
Spanning more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, Facts On File’s American History Online database provides a comprehensive range of information in one complete resource that includes subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts, and timelines.
Biography Reference Center
Biography Reference Center™ offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies in 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders, and many others.
History Reference Center
The database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books from leading history publishers; full text for more than 150 history periodicals; nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,400 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Military Collection
ProQuest Military Collection™ covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. It includes around 550 titles, with more than 400 available in full-text.
Popular Culture Guide
This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art, or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. Popular Culture Collection contains 3,510,398 articles updated as recently as August 17, 2012. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2012.
U.S. History Collection
This collection provides coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. US History Collection contains 457,028 articles updated as recently as August 17, 2012. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2012.
World History Collection
This collection of journals provides balanced coverage of both the current thought and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. World History Collection contains 276,658 articles updated as recently as August 17, 2012. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2012.

Librarian

NYIT Library

Email Me