Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Tech Returns: What to know about using NYIT Libraries for Spring 2022. View the latest information

Finding Images in Architecture, Art & Design: Finding Images in Architecture

This guide will help to find, use and cite images for research and study in architecture, art and design.

Find Images in Books and Print Journals

The majority of architectural images: site plans, elevations, floor plans, sections, and details can be found in journal and in books: encyclopedias, atlases, catalogs, and monographs. To find these books search, NYIT's library online catalog: Bearcat.  
To locate images in print journals search Art Source, and Avery Index.
When full text is not available, search the journal locator to confirm the Library has the volume and issue required.
Submit an article request or book scan request to source from another library.

Databases

Websites and Digital Collections

Spotlight on ARTstor

ARTstor is one of our library's subscription databases and provides collections of art & architecture images and associated data. 
It contains more than one million images of the highest quality that encompass architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture!

 

See Also, related guides...

© 2020 New York Institute of Technology