LibGuides: Salem Witch Trials: Articles & Databases

What's Your Angle?

The angle from which you approach your topic will help you to decide which database will best meet your research needs.

Database Searching Tips & Tricks

Tip #1: Think of as many synonyms and related terms as possible for your topic. Scholars and journalists may use different words to describe similar ideas, so searching with multiple keywords will ensure that you do not miss out on relevant material just because it employs different terms.

Tip #2: For quick, effective searching, utilize Boolean operators.

AND = Narrows your search. Will return results in which terms appear together. e.g., Media AND Elections
OR = Broadens your search. Will return results in which either term appears. e.g., Media OR Elections
NOT = Narrows your search. Will return results in which a specified term is excluded. e.g., Media NOT elections

History Databases

History Reference Center
The database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books from leading history publishers; full text for more than 150 history periodicals; nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,400 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
American History: Facts on File
Spanning more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, Facts On File’s American History Online database provides a comprehensive range of information in one complete resource that includes subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts, and timelines.
U.S. History Collection
This collection provides coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. US History Collection contains 457,028 articles updated as recently as August 17, 2012. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2012.

Social Science Databases

PyscARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This database provides users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Religion and Philosophy Collection contains 1,427,484 articles updated as recently as June 11, 2013. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2013.

Literature Databases

Bloom’s Literary reference Online
Biography, criticism, and videos in literature from ancient Greece to the present.
Literature Criticism Online
Coverage includes criticism of plays, drama, short stories and theater.
Literature Resource Center
Coverage includes full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines as well as critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run, and currently contains more than 2 million records. In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals gives full information on over 7,100 journals and book series