Community & Urban Research Guide: Find Articles

Multiidiscipliary:

• Academic Search Complete — A multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications; full-text is available for over 5,300 journals.
• Scopus – Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Search and access research from the science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities fields.
• Google Scholar — An excellent place to find new and interdisciplinary scholarly articles. It's particularly good when you are having trouble finding articles in other databases, or if you're unsure about which discipline is likely to publish the kind of research you’re looking for.

• ACM Digital Library – Computer systems and technology, publications from the Association for Computing Machinery by the Association of Computing Machinery.
• IEEE Xplore – Engineering and technology.
• Search for Patents – United States Patent and Trademark Office (.gov)

Social science databases (education, psychology)

• Education Research Complete
• SocIndex with Full Text

In many databases, you will see a "PDF full text" or "HTML full text" link next to a citation. If so, clicking on the link will bring up the full text of the article.

If you don't see one of those links,

1. Search the NYIT Journal Locator by journal title. The journal locator will let you know if it is available in another database we subscribe to.
2. Search Find a PDF to locate titles by DOI (Direct Object Identifier). See instructions.

Use Find a PDF to search for PDFs by DOI (Direct Object Identifier). See instructions.