Finding Open Educational Resources (OER) for the course you teach can be as simple as conducting a search or a real adventure of sleuthing. You won't know until you get started.
Before you get started, you should know that OER librarians collect Open Textbooks by subject. There's no harm in googling "OER + your discipline."
You can search our page OER by discipline, where we've collected open textbooks by discipline. You can also explore the Tacoma Community College's OER by Subject guides. Choose a subject, then click on the "OER starting points." to see the collected OER recommendations.
Search Open Textbooks
Do you teach an introductory-level course? OpenStax has high-quality open peer-reviewed textbooks at the 101 level, including ancillary materials and instructor and student resources.
- Open Textbook Library
This curated collection includes hundreds of complete, open, college-level textbooks. Includes reviews. Faculty members from anywhere, including UAA, can submit reviews of the texts. By Univ. of Minnesota. Content is searched within both the OASIS and Mason metal finders as well.
BC Campus OpenEd Textbook Directory
Directory of 117 hand-picked open textbooks, many reviewed by British Columbia faculty. Some include supplementary materials. Content is searched within both the OASIS and Mason metal finders as well.
- Pressbooks Directory
Pressbooks is a publishing platform where many OER books are published. This link will allow you to search cataloged Pressbooks made discoverable by their publishing institutions. Careful. Some entries are derivatives of other existing open textbooks!
Search All Types of Open Learning Materials
- OER Commons
A search engine that covers OER for higher education as well as K-12. Be sure to use the filter menu on the results page to narrow the types of material you're interested in.
- Mason OER Metafinder
Simultaneously search several OER and open access repositories with this single search box from George Mason University. An excellent place to see a wide variety of types of resources. Allows for searching full records for terms, whereas OASIS does not.
- OASIS OER Metafinder
Simultaneously search many OER and open access repositories with this metal finder from SUNY. An excellent place to see a wide variety of types of resources.
An open online platform containing both open textbooks, and full open courses. LibreText is also a software platform offering an OER Remixer to help instructors build custom collections of OER.