You've done a cursory search for open educational repository and haven't found exactly what you are looking for. It may be time to take your search to the next level using some of the repositories and search engines linked on this page.
Through the resources, you find through these links should be open, always confirm that the material you wish to use has a Creative Commons or similar license that explicitly allows you to use and/modify the material.
These sources provide you with complete courses or units that are entirely open. You can use an entire course, a portion of a course, or just the reading list -- whatever is relevant to your needs.
Courses. An independent search engine that indexes open education classes from places like MIT, Yale, UMass, Saylor, and more. Also searches MERLOT.
Courses. Includes 81 of WA state's highest enrollment courses. Complete courses include syllabi, activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of faculty, instructional designers, and librarians. Great community college and core-course content.
Units or mini-courses. Contains complete units and portions of courses with readings and activities. All learning materials in OpenLearn are CC licensed. Includes comments and rating feature. From Open University.
Courses, units, lessons, etc. This directory can link you to a variety of OER for a variety of subjects. Includes materials at all levels K-16+ so be sure to select your desired level.
Courses. Includes 2 courses on college readiness, appropriate for guidance and developmental math. Though the CC symbol is nowhere to be found, documentation invites educators to use, modify, and remix.
Courses, units, and more. This repository is one of the biggest and more famous places to find and share teaching resources. Not all materials are open - use the advanced search tool to find materials by CC license (select yes for "allow modifications" for truly open materials). Narrowing your search by material type will help you hone in on courses and units. Also, consider narrowing by audience as this resource targets all levels K-16+.
These links allow you to explore open access books that are not textbooks. Most of these books are not truly OER as they do not allow remixing or revising. Always check the license before using it.
Academic. The best single place to search for open access academic books. Directory of 3,442 freely accessible academic peer-reviewed books from 123 publishers (as of October 2015).
Classics. Over 50,000 free ebook versions (html, epub, kindle) of classics and public domain works from the first massive ebook-creating organization in existence.
Classics. Over 80 classics in attractive pdf form.
All types. Some books presented in this mass conglomeration of scanned books are fully available, but most are excerpted. Able to search full text of books.
The most comprehensive collection of open access journals in a variety of disciplines. Unfortunately, you can search by journal subject, but not by article subject.
An open publisher whose mission is to change the nature of sharing scientific research through open access.
Repository/provider. Wide variety of materials (books, reports, journals, etc.) related to developing countries. Touches on economics, business, legal studies, geography, and more.
This section includes several different types of sources.
You may also wish to explore complete courses to see which readings and other materials are used in courses similar to yours.
Textbook provider. Offering free, open-source, peer-reviewed, high-quality textbooks. Widely respected and one of the best resources for open textbooks. The "More Resources" section for each book entry has free and paid supplementary materials. More textbooks are in development. Non-profit affiliated with Rice University.
Curated collection. Hundreds of complete, open college-level textbooks. Includes reviews. Faculty members from anywhere, including UAA can submit reviews of the texts. By Univ. of Minnesota.
Curated collection. Directory of 117 hand-picked open textbooks, many reviewed by British Columbia faculty. Canadian focus. Some include supplementary materials.
Textbook provider. Open textbooks created within the University System of Georgia. Also includes ancillary materials.
Repository. One of the biggest and more famous places to find and share teaching resources. Not all materials are open - use the advanced search tool to find materials by CC license (select yes for "allow modifications" for truly open materials). Narrowing your search by material type will help you hone in on textbooks. Consider narrowing by the audience as well as this resource targets all levels K-16+.
Curated collection. Over 100 high-quality college-level open textbooks. The open collection of Flat World Books lives on at Saylor. Includes some works from other sources as well.
Repository/Provider. The Wikipedia of open textbook creation. An imperfect and often incomplete resource, but worth a look. May be a great place for you or your students to get involved in the development of open textbooks.
Repository/provider. Wide variety of materials (books, reports, journals, etc.) related to developing countries. Touches on economics, business, legal studies, geography, and more.
The Open Professionals Education Network (OPEN) provides links to excellent places to search for images.
Over 3 million images from Smithsonian collections, all under public domain (CC0 license).
The Open Professionals Education Network (OPEN) provides links to excellent places to search for videos.
Watch 725 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries, and other films, created by some of our greatest actors, actresses and directors. Mostly old popular movies.
The Open Professionals Education Network (OPEN) provides links to excellent places to search for music and audio.
Most places to locate OER cover a wide range of subjects. This box contains subject-specific resources. Note that these are likely to be just one part of your search.
Saylor's curation of OER and places to find OER for specific courses/subjects. Note that materials may be outdated (expect some broken links; recommended sources may be old; likely excludes recently developed materials) since dates for guide creation/last update are not provided. These are not meant to be exhaustive and it is recommended that you extend your search to other places I've linked.
American Institute of Mathematics' curated list of approved open source and open access mathematics textbooks.
More subjects to come in the future.
This work is adapted from a LibGuide by D'Arcy Hutchings which is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
You may reproduce, reuse, or remix any part of this guide as long as credit is included. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.