Skip to main content

AAID 101 102: Architecture Research

Pr. Cianfaglione

Resources and services for the design disciplines curated to emphasize electronic resources from both the NYIT Libraries and the internet. Research and practice in the design disciplines rely heavily on information and images in print. To support access to the print collections the Art & Architecture Library offers:

 

Learn how to access the print collections on the Books & eBooks page. Art & Architecture Library on the Long Island campus and the Manhattan Library collection host an active print collection. Contact the architecture librarian at any time for further assistance.

The guide is organized into sections for each discipline; followed by Course Guides, critical topics, the research process, professional practice,  Images, Video and Streaming Media, and the Art & Architecture Library news. Depending on the type of resource, search, evaluation and access may differ. 

Special Research Topics:

Precedent Research

Research for Design Projects

Investigate a Site using Site Analysis tools
Codes and Standards and GIS for Architecture

Architectural History

Investigate Archives and Primary Sources

Design Research

What is Design Research?

'Research that is undertaken by architects (and deisgners) and their collaborators in the course of a project; and

'Research that is done by architects and others, in practice and academia, outside the scope of architectural projects. "
- Royal Institute of British Architects, (2014). Architects and research-based knowledge: A literature review. (pdf)  

Essential Reading

 

 

Something About Books. . .

The vast majority of Art, Architecture, and Design knowledge are not available through Google. You may find the book or article online but will need to obtain a physical copy to access all the information. Copyright restrictions protect creators and designers. Not all quality material will be found via the Open Web.

Journals and Books: While art and architecture journals are available to search digitally, often the full text databases such as ArtSource, Avery Index and Architecture Publications Index, and JSTOR, contain only the text and not the high-quality reproductions. 

- Adapted from, "Why You Need to Come to Haas Arts Library" by Lindsay King, http://guides.library.yale.edu/artsebooks, accessed 2/16/17.

Precedent Study

Break out information by select keywords - Answer the following:
What is the architect(s) name? What is the name of the building? Note this may change over time. 
What are the building's purpose and type? Expand and repeat this search across multiple sources. Refer to Architecture & Design databases for information on Buildings and Structures. The Open Web is ok to start but understand you are getting results that are commercial, lack depth, and often hold poor reproductions.

Complete this worksheet to build your search. 

Use this template to compile this research.

Architecture and Design Databases

Search databases for full-text and citations of design journal and monographs. Click on any link below to open a database. If you are off campus, enter your NYIT ID when prompted. 

Architecture History - Key Sources

 

When researching an architectural assignment, look to some general historical sources to gain an understanding of what issues influenced the design. Historic Events, Economic concerns, Social factors, all effect design decisions. 

Find comprehensive information on a specific built work and develop a Precedent Study. Architecture students should have the "Ability to incorporate relevant precedents into architecture and urban design projects." (NAAB student performance criteria 11,Use of Precedents.)

Architecture & Urban Planning History - Key Sources

Welcome

Vanessa Viola's picture
Vanessa Viola
Contact:
Art & Architecture Library
Education Hall
New York Institute of Technology
Old Westbury, NY 11568
631-742-1336
Website

OER for Architecture, Interior Design and the Arts

© 2020 New York Institute of Technology