LibGuides: AAID 160 Architectural History: Architecture Research

Covering Course Guides; Critical Topics; Books & eBooks; Databases; Images, Film & Media; from both the NYIT Libraries and the internet.
Focused topics include Conducting Research, Maps & GIS, Architecture, Interior Design, Construction Management, Urban Design, and Design for Health.
Explore recommendations for Site Analysis, Precedent Study, Professional Practice, Architectural History.
Connect with a Librarian Drop-in on Zoom or call 516-686-7579.
Stay current with and Full-text access.
Attend Virtual Tutorials and Workshops.

Architecture and Design Databases

Click on any link below to open a database. Enter NYIT ID when prompted.

Architectural Publications Index
Art Source
Access to full-text or indexed journal articles, books and images in the fine and decorative arts and architecture.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Comprehensive index of journal articles on architecture, landscape architecture, historic preservation, and interior design.
JSTOR Language & Literature Collection
Subjects: African studies, art & art history, education, women studies, Latin American studies, Asian studies, American literature
Bridgeman Art Library Archive-Credo Reference
Collection of digital images for architecture and the fine and decorative arts.

Greenfile
Subjects: All aspects of human impact to the environment. Coverage includes global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
Environmental studies focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues.
MadCad
Building codes online.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete

CumInCAD
CumInCAD is a Cumulative Index about publications in Computer Aided Architectural Design supported by the sibling associations ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SIGraDi, ASCAAD and CAAD futures.

more... less...

Open Access
Greenhomebuilding
more... less...

Information about environmentally friendly, sustainable architecture and natural building, using renewable energy, local and recycled materials, and incorporating principles of conservation. Includes resource links and book and video recommendations.

Art Source
Access to full-text or indexed journal articles, books and images in the fine and decorative arts and architecture.
Bridgeman Art Library Archive-Credo Reference
Collection of digital images for architecture and the fine and decorative arts.
Fine Arts & Music Collection
Subjects: Drama, music, art history, and filmmaking
JSTOR Language & Literature Collection
Subjects: African studies, art & art history, education, women studies, Latin American studies, Asian studies, American literature

Access Engineering
Engineering, Biomedical, Chemical, Environmental sustainable, Energy Petroleum.
Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Collection
Subjects: Gardening, home decorating and remodeling, architecture, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture
IEEE Xplore
Subjects: Engineering and technology

InformeDesign
resource for EVIDENCE-BASED DESIGN content, resources, people, and tools.

New York State Heritage - Digital Collections
SAH Archipedia
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians. Contains histories, photographs, and maps.

When beginning historical research, look to databases that provide overview for person, place or point in time,

Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey
Documentation produced through the programs constitutes the nation's largest archive of historic architectural, engineering, and landscape documentation. The HABS/HAER/HALS Collection is housed at the Library of Congress.

The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS)
The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.

more... less...

The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types and engineering technologies
Pacific Coast Architecture Database
A range of information on the buildings and architects of California, Oregon and Washington. Also included are professionals in other fields who have made an impact on the built environment, such as landscape architects, interior designers, engineers, urban planners, developers, and building contractors.
Skyscraper Page
A collection of thousands of drawings of skyscrapers from around the world. Browse by continent, country, region, architect, building type, status, or by special diagram. Results are displayed in order by height.
Great Buildings Online
Images, Models, Drawings, Architect Biographies.
Cities and Buildings Database from the U. of Washington

NYS-Cultural Resource Information Center
Over more than 50 years, SHPO has collected information on thousands of buildings, structures, objects, sites, and districts throughout New York State. These records, as well as scanned documentation and photographs, are available for you to search in CRIS.

National Register of Historic Places
The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.
History Quest DC
Washington DC, Historic Preservation Office
Los Angeles Conservancy, Historic Places of Los Angeles