Skip to main content

Journalism: Databases

Resources covering journalism and journalistic endeavors.

DATABASES (NYIT LIBRARY SUBSCRIPTON)

Advertising Redbooks  

 Advertising agencies, advertising database.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database    

Canadian reference collection.
Canadian Newsstream    

Newspapers from Canada's leading publishers.
Chronicling America-Historic American Newspapers 1789-1924  

America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924. Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.   
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Research in areas related to communication and mass media.    
CQ Researcher    

Reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Historical Newspapers: Boston Globe (1872-1981)    

Coverage: Historical local, regional and national news
InfoTrac Newsstand    

National, international, state and local newspapers.
LexisNexis Academic Universe    

News, company, and legal information
New York State (NYS) Historical Newspapers   

The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. Over 5 million scanned pages available
New York State Newspapers    

U.S. news-Northeast, opinion and commentary.
New York Times    

Backfile of articles from 1980 - Present.
New York Times Historical    

Backfile of articles from 1851 - 2012.
Newsday   

Backfile of articles from 1985 - Present.
PapersFirst    

OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
ProQuest Political Science  

Political science, country profiles, political news.
Regional Business News    

Business news covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
US Newsstream    

Newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world.
Wall Street Journal    

Backfile of articles from 1984 - Present.
Wall Street Journal Historical    

Backfile of articles from 1889 - 1999.
World History Collection    

Coverage of past & current events in World History.

DATABASES​

Databases can play a large role in journalistic research. Through the NYIT Library portal students have access to a wealth of subscription-based research databases. Students at NYIT can utilize these rich resources on campus and also off-campus by logging with a user name and password. Whether the need is for historical news, in-depth reports or academic studies, these powerful tools can enhance the research experience by producing high quality results. The databases represented on this page are specifically useful in the areas of journalism and communications.

 

© 2020 New York Institute of Technology