Skip to Main Content

MGMT102: Principles of Management: Home

Introduction

The study of management is represented by an assortment of activities and practices. Research in this field can come from a variety of sources such as market and industry reports, geographic reports, company profiles, case studies and datasets. This guide aims to help students access and use sources that will help them better understand the vast amounts of information that form the basis of the practice of management.

Google

Learn how to search Google expertly. Start by learning how to use the operators below. For more information visit the Google guide.

Verbatim use Tools > All Results > Verbatim to search the exact keywords you type.
“ ” use double quotes to search the exact phrase you type.
filetype: use filetype: to search for a variety of file formats.
inurl: use inurl: to search for term in the URL.
intitle: use intext: to search for terms in the text.
site: use site: to limit your search to a particular site.
example: site:worldbank.org
intext:  use intext: to search for terms in the text.
define:  use define: like a dictionary to define words and terms.
term AROUND(5) term: use AROUND(n) to search for words within a certain proximity.
OR use OR to search for synonyms or similar concepts.
- use minus (-) to subtract terms and domains from your results.

Articles in Databases

Search databases by keyword, subject, company names, or NAICS code.

  • Business Source Complete
    Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
     
  • MarketLine
    ​    Marketline provides users with competitive intelligence through company (publicly traded), industry and geographic reports. Analyisis in the form of SWOT, Five Forces and PEST are also provided throught this powerful and user-friendly database.
     
  • PrivCo
    Privco provides Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
     
  • Proquest Central
    ​
  • Other: Lexis-Nexis, Hoovers, ABI Inform, Academic Search Complete, + topic/subject databases.

Journals, Magazines, Newspapers

Search, print and download 1000s of full-text journal holdings using the NYIT Journal Locator. 

Examples include:

  • Economist
  • New York Times
  • Wall Street Journal
  • IEEE Spectrum,
  • New Scientist
  • Harvard Business Review,
  • and more.

Classification

  • North American Industry Classification System
    www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/
    A replacement of the former Standard Industrial Classification (SIC), the “North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) classifies business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. economy. The NAICS industry codes define establishments based on the activities in which they are primarily engaged.” (Small Business Association).
     
  • Standard Industrial Classi (abbreviated SIC) (-2004)
    www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sicsearch.html

Statistics

  • Statista
    Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals providing access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources. Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
     
  • FedStats
    Fedstats Website portal to useful statistics generated by a variety of government agencies. Stats from this site can cover a gamut of topics from population, crime, education, health care to energy use, etc.
     
  • United States Census Bureau
    The U.S. Census Bureau conducts and publishes a wealth of statistical research based primarily on population and location.
     
  • American FactFinder (Census)
    Published by the U.S. Census Bureau, the American FactFinder provides statistics on population, housing, demographics, etc.
     
  • Bureau of Economic Analysis
    The BEA analyzes and publishes a variety of research regarding the U.S. economy particularly in the areas of industry, and international economic accounts.

Patents

Contact

You are encouraged to email, tweet @sebastienmarion, or make an appointment and meet with me in-person, or online via webcam.

Sebastien Marion
Librarian III, MLIS/MBA 
New York Institute of Technology
1855 Broadway 
New York, NY 10023
Tel: 646.273.6102

Librarian

Profile Photo
Sebastien Marion
Contact:
New York City Campus Library
1855 Broadway
New York, NY, 10023
646.273.6102
Website
© 2024 New York Institute of Technology