Skip to Main Content

Medical Images

This guide contains resources to help you locate medical images.

About This Guide

The resources contained in this guide have been selected to support faculty members, researchers, and students. We have included information on the copyright policies of each database, however, be sure to double check on the source's website. Most of the sites listed on this page permit users to download the images for non-commercial purposes, such as for use in lectures, as long as the source of the image is included.

 

Have more copyright questions? Read the NYIT Libraries Copyright Guide which addresses fair use, guidelines for faculty, guidelines for students, and answers to commonly asked questions.

Topographic Anatomical Atlas

Author: Braune, Wilhelm (1831–1892).

Title: Topographisch-anatomischer Atlas : nach Durchschnitten an gefrornen Cadavern.

Publication Information: Leipzig: Verlag von Veit & Comp., 1867–1872.

U.S. NLM Historical Anatomies Collection

Musculorum Tabula

An anatomical diagram of a man showing the muscles, in a landscape, seen from the front.

Prima musculorum tabula (1543)

Author: Geminus, Thomas (d. 1562)

Title: Prima musculorum tabula

Publication information: In officina I. Herfordie, Londini 1543

Rare Book Division, The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Anatomical diagram of a human figure with skin removed to depict muscles, lateral view.

Secunda musculorum tabula (1543)

Author: Geminus, Thomas (d. 1562)

Title: Secunda musculorum tabula

Publication information: In officina I. Herfordie, Londini 1543

Rare Book Division, The New York Public Library Digital Collections

An anatomical diagram of the human muscular system engraved by Jan Wandelaa. Depicted from behind, the flayed figure, which retains its head of hair, extends both arms to the side, with the left arm raised. Areas of skin hang from the figure. The various muscles are marked in Latin and Greek characters. Set within a landscape, with a distant city view, and the title inscribed on a ruinous column in the lower right corner.

Decima musculorum tabula (1545)

Author: Geminus, Thomas (d. 1562)

Title: Decima musculorum tabula

Publication information: In officina I. Herfordie, Londini 1545

Rare Book Division, The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Anatomical diagram of a male figure with skin removed to depict muscles, anterior view. The figure tilts his head back to the sky above.

Quinta musculorum tabula (1543)

Author: Geminus, Thomas (d. 1562)

Title: Quinta musculorum tabula

Publication information: In officina I. Herfordie, Londini 1543

Rare Book Division, The New York Public Library Digital Collections

An anatomical diagram of the human muscular system depicted from behind, the flayed figure, extends both arms to the side, with the left arm raised. Areas of skin hang from the figure. The various muscles are marked in Latin and Greek characters. Set within a landscape, with a distant city view, and the title inscribed on a tablet in the lower right corner.

Duodecima musculorum tabula (1545)

Author: Geminus, Thomas (d. 1562)

Title: Duodecima musculorum tabula

Publication information: In officina I. Herfordie, Londini 1545

Rare Book Division, The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Full body, back view of muscles. Right arm is extended downward and there is a muscular extention protruding up from the thumb and down through the middle.

Vndecima musculorum tabula (1545)

Author: Geminus, Thomas (d. 1562)

Title: Vndecima musculorum tabula

Publication information: In officina I. Herfordie, Londini 1545

Rare Book Division, The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Anatomical drawing of a standing nude male in landscape. Skin is flayed, exposing insides, and head thrown back

Sexta musculorum tabula (1543)

Author: Geminus, Thomas (d. 1562)

Title: Sexta musculorum tabula

Publication information: In officina I. Herfordie, Londini 1543

Rare Book Division, The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Anatomical drawing of the posterior of a standing nude male in landscape. Skin is flayed, exposing insides, and left arm lifted and bent at a 90 degree angle.

Decima tertia musculorum tabula (1545)

Author: Geminus, Thomas (d. 1562)

Title: Decima tertia musculorum tabula

Publication information: In officina I. Herfordie, Londini 1545

Rare Book Division, The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Deep muscles of the body, and their attachments to the skeleton. Intercostal muscles. Skull shown with atlas and axis, posterior view. Isolated leg, dissected, showing sole of the foot. Male figure, in vivo, posterior view.

Decima quarta musculorum tabula (1545)

Author: Geminus, Thomas (d. 1562)

Title: Decima quarta musculorum tabula

Publication information: In officina I. Herfordie, Londini 1545

Rare Book Division, The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Full length, front view, body leaning against stone wall. Muscles of face, neck, arms and legs exposed. Chest cavity open revealing rib cage and vertebrae.

Octaua musculorum tabula (1545)

Author: Geminus, Thomas (d. 1562)

Title: Octaua musculorum tabula

Publication information: In officina I. Herfordie, Londini 1545

Rare Book Division, The New York Public Library Digital Collections

© 2024 New York Institute of Technology