Brooklyn Public Library has 58 Branch Locations
Source: Brooklyn Public Library Logo
- Apply for a Brooklyn Public Library Card Anyone who lives, works, goes to school or owns property in NY in entitled to a BPL /Out of State $50 Fee
- BPL ECard: A Valid email address is required & the ECard has be used by anyone in or out of NY. Only e-materials are checked out & identification is not required. Access online resources including databases and eJournals, use the computers & printers at any BPL Location
Brooklyn Public Library Online Resources include:
- African American Experience a collection of scholarly articles and primary source doucments on African American History and Culture. Includes books, speeches, letters, photographs, illustrations and audio clips
- Black Short Fiction and Forklore: Collects African and African American short stories and folktales published in more than 15 countries from the mid 1900's to present. Includes digitized runs of select literary magazines and black-owned journals and newspapers
- Black Thought & Culture: Collects published works by leading African American writers, spanning the 1700's to the present. Includes books, interviews, journal articles, essays, pamplets & letters
- Black Women Writers: Collects fiction, poetry and essays by black women published in Africa & the Americas from the 1700's to the present
- Research Databases -Databases range from Academic OneFile, hangesH Ca RAcademic Search Premier, American Indian Experience, ARTstor, BPL Electronic Magazines & Journals Lists, Business Insights: Essentials, Caribbean Literature, CCH Capital Changes Reporter, Chinese Electronic Journal Database (Qikan), Computer Database Collection, Conference Board's Research Online Collection, Europena, Gale Business: Entrepreneurship, Gale Business: Plan Builder, General OneFile, InfoTrac Newsstand, Investors's Business Daily, JSTOR, Latino American Experience, Medline Plus, MedlinePlus (en Espanol), Mergent Archives, Mergent Intellect, Mergent Online, Morningstar Investment Research Center, SimplyAnalystics, Sports Market Analytics, Statista, ValueLine Investment Survey and much more.
- Federal Information Incorporated Online (FII Online) - search for obsolete or existing stocks using CUSIP number, stock symbol or company name. Annual Guide to stock & the Directory of Obsolete Security.
- Fire Insurance Maps Online (FIMO) - Full color fire insurance maps from Sanborn and other publishers, real estate atlases, plat books & other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses and other useful information
- Flipster - Access major magazines and journals.
- Learning Express Library 3.0 - Practice Tests and other study materials for GED/HSE,TASC, HiSET, TASC, SAT, civil service, technical and other professional exams.
- LitFinder: Full text online editions of classic poems, short stories, essays, plays and speeches
- Mometrix eLibrary Access to test preparation for over 1,000 different standardized exams including GED, SAT, ACT, TEAS, HESI, Praxis, TOEFL, career and technical certification
eBooks at the Brooklyn Public Library
- Brooklyn Public Library eBook Catalog currently over 172,000 plus titles
- eBooks and More- Access BPL Collection of eBooks, magazines, magazines, & reference library
- eBooks on Ebsohost Collection/Ebscohost Espanol - Search, read and download eBooks, in different subject areas, including business, career
- FreedomFlix - read eBooks & watch online videos. Includes Reports, Project Ideas, Quizzes * Lesson Plans
- Gale eBooks 24/7 to reference eBooks. Topics include arts, business, education, history, law, literature, medicine, religion, science and social science.
- RomanceBookCloud provides unlimited and unrestricted access to a curated collection of romance eBooks
Brooklyn Public Library (BPL) Latest News - as of November 25th 2020;
List of BPL Branches open for Lobby Service
Updated November 25th, 2020
Grab and Go - Lobby Service Branch Locations - Address, Phone # and Hours of Operation
Our Plan to Safely Reopen Our Branches
Lobby Service is now available or coming soon at the below locations. BPL will add open locations and branch offerings over time to help keep our staff and patrons safe.
Libraries currently offering Lobby Service:
How Lobby Service works:
Patrons have access to select branch lobbies for quick transactions. Masks are required for both patrons and staff. Materials that are checked out during this time will not accrue fines for the time being (nor will fines will accrue on items checked out before the closure). These on-site services will be available:
Brooklyn Public Library (BPL) Latest News - as of November 6th 2020;
List of BPL Branches open for Lobby Service
All BPL locations will be closed for Veterans Day on Wednesday, November 11. Homecrest, Midwood, Kensington, and Kings Highway Libraries are temporarily closed due to elevated rates of COVID-19 in surrounding communities; learn more on our response page. Select BPL branches are open for limited lobby service! See our location map for details.
Reopening Stages & Services
Library services will follow a phased approach and will be available to the public in the below service levels at different locations. Expanding library services will be based on public health circumstances; no dates for Limited Access or Additional Access have been set yet. Continue to check this page and our locations map to see what service levels are available.
Note: Meeting rooms and branch programs will remain unavailable until further notice.
BPL will continue providing virtual services during and beyond our reopening process. Learn more about digital services here.
Health & Safety Protocols
BPL is following the latest safety guidelines from the CDC and American Library Association (ALA) to ensure our branches and materials are safe for our staff and patrons.
Brooklyn Public Library requires that everyone, staff and patrons included, wear a suitable face covering at all times while inside our facilities. This requirement is based on CDC recommendations as a measure to contain the wearer’s respiratory droplets and help protect all staff and patrons. Wearing a face covering does not replace the need to practice social distancing.
CDC guidelines recommend the use of a washable cloth face covering which covers the nose and mouth. BPL welcomes staff and patrons to wear their own face covering if it meets the following guidelines:
- fits snugly but comfortably against the side of the face
- completely covers the nose and mouth
- is secured with ties or ear loops
- includes multiple layers of fabric
- allows for breathing without restriction
If staff or patrons do not have a suitable cloth face covering (as determined exclusively by the Library), we will provide single-use, disposable face coverings for use while on BPL premises. These are multiple-layer, non-surgical masks intended for use for no more than 4 continuous hours. These masks will be provided at any time upon request.
Returned materials will be quarantined before being put back into circulation. This means it may take a few extra days to receive materials on hold, and to see returns come off your account—thank you for your patience!
- BPL is providing Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) for all Custodial and public service staff. This includes disposable surgical masks and gloves. Masks will be required for all patrons and staff.
- EPA-certified cleaning products, hand sanitizer and soap will be available at all branches
- Wipes will be available to disinfect computers, laptops and self-service kiosks once they are available for patron use
Floor decals and signs will provide guidance on social distancing and updates on available library services.
- Desks and tables will be situated appropriately for social distancing, for both staff and patrons
- HVAC will be configured per branch layout to promote maximum fresh air circulation
Note: These plans are subject to change, based on the latest guidance from public health professionals and elected officials.