Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Tech Returns: What to know about using NYIT Libraries for Summer 2022. View the latest information

Medical Images

This guide contains resources to help you locate medical images.

Links

ASH Image Bank (American Society of Hematology) - A web-based library with a collection of high-quality, peer-reviewed images showing hematologic topics. 

Cell Image Library: A repository for high-quality images and movies of cells from different organisms. 

Cells Alive!: Includes images of cells, microbes, and the immune system. Here is how to cite images from this website. 

ECG Image Index: Hundreds of ECGs from Dr. Alan Lindsay.

Skin Deep: Is an open access bank of high-quality photographs of medical conditions with a range of skin tones. Images may be searched by description, diagnosis, or body part

MedPics (UC San Diego School of Medicine) - Contains clinical images, hematology, histology, and pathology. MedPics is searchable in standard mode or review / self-study mode. 

The Whole Brain Atlas (by Harvard) - Contains images of normal and diseased brains. Topics include: stroke, brain tumors, degenerative disease, and inflammatory disease. 

Historical Anatomies of the Web (NIH): Images from anatomical atlases in the National Library of Medicine's collection.

Public Health Image Library PHIL (CDC) - Contains photos and illustrations that can be used for educators, researchers, and health care providers. Users may select images/illustrations to add to 'my pictures' if they create an account. 

MedPix (National Library of Medicine) - Open-access containing 12,000+ cases, 59,000 images, and 9,000 clinical topics. Images are searchable by organ system, patient symptoms, signs, diagnosis, image modality, image description, keywords, authors, etc. 

The Cancer Imaging Archive (TCIA) - Contains imaging of lung, breast, neuro MRI, virtual colonoscopy, etc. 

Structured Analysis of the Retina (funded by NIH) - Images can be viewed under the "data" section of the web page. 

Library of Congress Prints & Photographs: Contains photographs, artwork, and history of medicine. 

Open-I: Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine through the National Library of Medicine. 

LearningRadiology: Image gallery for radiology. 

Cancer.Net: Contains both full-color anatomical illustrations and illustrations of cancer by stage. 

National Cancer Institute (NCI) Visuals: Collection of more than 3,600 images from the NIH. Contains photographs and illustrations. 

NIH Health Gallery: Free-to-use NIH Health research images, 3D print images, infographics, and illustrations. 

Infectious Disease Images: Images from Massachusetts General Hospital Infectious Diseases Division and Microbiology Lab. 

Wellcome Images: A unique collection of medical images from the museum's collection of illustrations, photos, and paintings. The Wellcome Collection is a free museum and library that supports research into mental health and infectious disease. Click the link and select the 'images' tab 

Multi-Dimensional Human Embryo: Images produced by magnetic resonance imaging, funded by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD). 

Neuro-Ophthalmology Virtual Education Library: Open-access repository of digital materials, including images. Find images by selecting "images" under the file type section. 

© 2022 New York Institute of Technology