Communication Arts: Journals

"UK based arts and culture publication that covers visual arts, literature, music, theatre and film."

"News, reports, essays, and reviews that discuss and analyze independent photography, film, electronic imaging, alternative publishing and telecommunications."

"Provides explinations on type and how it works, concentrating on terminology, design, and copyfitting."

"Features news, research, surveys, features and reports related to issues and events significant in the design world."

"Concerned with the development of technologies of relevance to those working in different digital media, with their relationship to traditional practices of art and design, and to the relationship of all these to education."

"Performing arts trade magazine featuring articles on lighting, set costume & makeup design, film, television, opera and dance design."

"Presents esthetic connections between typefaces and various designed objects such as fashion, furnishings, architecture, and graphic design."

"Publishes articles on scholarship in the history of photography, including the evolving motion picture industry and the technology of photography."

"IDJ is a platform for discussing and improving the design, usability, and overall effectiveness of ‘content put into form’ — of verbal and visual messages shaped to meet the needs of particular audiences. IDJ offers a forum for sharing ideas about the verbal, visual, and typographic design of print and online documents, multimedia presentations, illustrations, signage, interfaces, maps, quantitative displays, websites, and new media."

"Covers new research in design development & current issues of interest."

"How-to and philosophical articles on all aspects of photography, product reviews, advice and news published by the Photographic Society of America."

"Publishes articles on the history and theory of photography, digital technologies and economic, political and cultural change, and photogrophy in local and global contexts."

"Print portfolios, profiles, regional design, thematic issues, computer advances, historical perspective and provocative articles in all areas of the field of graphic design for designers, illustrators and photographers worldwide."

"Delivers a monthly showcase of the hottest portrait, wedding, commercial, digital & travel photographers - supported by a selection of supplementary guides, tech tips, tutorials & product round-ups."

"Devoted to the study of images and their uses. While images of architecture and works of art constitute its main focus, it also includes other subjects and contexts in a wide range of formats."

"For those who edit any kind of copy, from marketing materials to employee newsletters to academic works; content is timely and presents hot-button language-use issues and sound, practical editorial advice."

Presents articles related to both theoretical and practical issues of functional writing. Covers subjects such as: communication (technical and scientific, organizaional, business) communication management, hardware and software documentation.

Provides information for professionals in all media of technical communication.

"Original articles, reviews and commentary on all aspects of technical writing addressed to members of the Association of Teachers of Technical Writing."

"Manuscripts relating directly to the understanding of human communication; research reports, critical studies, state of the art reviews, supported opinion papers, and other essays selected through blind review."

Contains articles on research relevant to human communication.

"Articles reporting original research, methodologies relevant to the study of human communication and human symbolic activities."

"Articles and book reviews examining a broad range of issues in communication theory, research, practice and policy."

"Peer reviewed articles about decision-making, reports, literature searches & reviews dealing with mass media content & the behavior of practitioners in journalism, broadcasting, public relations, advertising & other mass communications disciplines."

"Articles on political tolerance, voter behavior, gender consciousness, concern for the environment, AIDS awareness, cross-national comparisons, social identity, reporting of crime, perception of nuclear threat and media effects."

"Focuses on Web related communication taking into account the growing importance of the Internet in the field of mass communication."

"Articles on national and international marketing, news about individuals in advertising, statistics on advertising and special reports."

"A weekly publication of articles, interviews, business profiles, licensing, new products and new campaigns aimed at professionals in marketing in agencies and client companies."

"Covers the communication arts worldwide" with a focus on advertising.

"Provides new & groundbreaking issues & research in the field of advertising."

"Focuses initially in the area of marketing & combines the peer-review of journals, the high usage of reference works, & the pedagogy of textbooks."

"Publishes contributions by marketers, advertising agencies, market researchers & academics to provide guidance on marketing to under-18s."

"Publishes research papers in the fields of international marketing management and strategy, such as market entry, segmentation, positioning, pricing, channel development, customer service, customer behavior analysis, and globalization."

"Aims to provide a high-quality medium through which both developments in marketing theory and thought and results of empirical research can be communicated to those active in marketing research and others."

"Provokes a new way of thinking about marketing, & proves invaluable to marketing academics, researchers & practitioners."

"The journal of the American Academy of Advertising. Original articles selected through blind review of a theoretical, empirical, methodological or philosophical nature which advance advertising knowledge."

Designed to promote our understanding of interactive advertising, marketing & communication in a changing world.

"A magazine of marketing management and applications published by the American Marketing Association. Articles on software reviews, new management tools, legislative issues regarding marketing, research methods and new marketing technologies."

"Original research and review articles dealing with the application of psychological theories and techniques to marketing; exploration of issues of law, ethics and values in psychology and marketing, case studies and cross-cultural reports."

"Covers feature films, television, commercials, music videos, digital video, new equipment, DVD, book releases, and much more."

"Provides innovative feminist perspectives on film, television, & visual media. Includes debates, essays, interviews, & summary pieces which encompass a wide spectrum of media practices."

"Presents reviews of and essays about international films."

"Publishes essays on a wide variety of subjects from diverse methodological perspectives."

"Articles, reviews and criticism on all aspects of broadcasting and electronic media."

"Articles dedicated to popular film and television in the broadest sense. Concentration on commercial cinema and television, theory/criticism, interviews, filmographies, bibliographies, stars, directors, producers, studios and networks."

"Dedicated exclusively to radio research. Interdisciplinary studies of contemporary & historical radio broadcasting."

"Articles on individual motion pictures, interviews with directors, screenwriters and literary figures, reviews of current film adaptations of literary works, reviews of books concerning film and responses to articles and reviews."

"Devoted to the study of the interaction between music and sound with the entirety of moving image media, film, television, music video, advertising, computer games, mixed-media installation, digital art, live cinema, etc."

"Focuses on the history, genres, trends, techniques, and cinematic theory in French cinema."

Journal covering issues and research involving the medium of televsion, until 2008.

"Presents scholarly and professional views and interpretations of patterns and trends in the television industry, and provides a critique of industry performance."

"Covers the business of new media, marketing, advertising, internet, mobile marketing and interactive television."

"Examines understanding of why organizations practice public relations as they do & ways to conduct public relations more effectively, as well as providing scholarly criticism, & developing the history, ethics & philosophy of public relations."

“Reports public relations techniques and trends, case studies of programs and news of the industry.”

"Presents fresh perspectives & new ideas related to the strategic importance of effective public relations at the management level. Examines changing concepts & occassionally challenges current wisdom about the practice of public relations."

"News, trends and how-to information for public relations people"

"Concerned with communication symbols, forms, phenomena, and strategic systems of symbols within the context of contemporary popular culture."

News, trends and how-to information for public relations people.

"Feature articles, commentary, profiles, books, legislation and timely news of note for editors, columnists, reporters and correspondents on newspapers, television, magazines, radio, business and government."

"Publishes both theoretical and empirical work and contributes to the social, economic, political, cultural and practical understanding of journalism. It includes contributions on current developments and historical changes within journalism."

"Publishes research papers on any facet of U.S. and International journalism history."

"Critical analysis of the performance of the news media--both print and broadcast. 75 percent of audience works in journalism or communication."

Africa; Journalism & Journalists

"Global Journalist magazine reports on the state of press freedom around the world, covers developments in international journalism and serves international journalists."

"Significant articles by journalists and academics on ethical, legal, and historical matters pertaining to community journalism."

"Provides opportunities for reflective, critical and research-based studies focused on the professional practice of journalism."

"Presents articles and essays on all aspects of print journalism and electronic mass communications, including reviews, studies, and opinion."

"A journal containing original, scholarly works in the field of journalism and mass communications. Research specific to these fields."

"A journal containing original, scholarly works in the field of journalism and mass communications. Research specific to these fields."

"Articles, book reviews, commentary and Nieman Foundation news about the national and international journalism industry."

"Covers media issues & communication in the South Pacific, Asia-Pacific, Australia & New Zealand."

"Articles, special reports, essays, commentary interviews, profiles, and news of note for professional journalists."