Communication Arts: Associations

"The Academy of Marketing Science is an international, scholarly, professional organization. It is dedicated to promoting high standards and excellence in the creation and dissemination of marketing knowledge and the furtherance of marketing practice through a role of leadership within the discipline of marketing around the world. The Academy is committed to the highest of ethical standards and collegiality in the pursuit of this mission."

"The Ad Council has endeavored to improve the lives of all Americans since first creating the category of public service advertising in 1942. From our earliest efforts including "Loose Lips Sink Ships" to the more recent "I am an American," Ad Council PSAs have been raising awareness, inspiring action and saving lives for more than 70 years."

"The Advertising Club Bombay was established to bring agencies and advertisers together with over 1600 active members from the fields of advertising, marketing, public relations, media and research fields, from across the country, it is arguably the busiest."

"The Advertising Agencies Association of India (AAAI) is the official, national organisation of advertising agencies, formed to promote their interests so that they continue to make an essential and ever-increasing contribution to the nation..."

"The ADVERTISING Club is the premier organization for all communication professionals in New York. The Club offers its members a forum for exchanging ideas, career development, making connections, recognizing excellence and giving back to build a stronger advertising and marketing community."

"The Advertising & Design Club of Canada is a non-profit, non-political group dedicated to encouraging excellence in Canadian advertising and design. The Club's overall goals are simply these: to inspire creativity, to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas, to forge a sense of community and integrity among advertising and design professionals."

"AMIN, the Advertising and Marketing International Network, is a global alliance of independently owned advertising agencies. The alliance spans the globe, with member networks in North America, Europe and Asia."

"AWNY was founded in 1912 as the first women's association in the communications industry. The organization now consists of more than 1,300 dynamic, influential women and men representing the advertising, marketing, media, promotion and public relations fields. AWNY is an active affiliate of the American Advertising Federation."

"AIM is the European Brands Association. It represents the branded goods industries in Europe on key issues which affect the ability of brand manufacturers to design, distribute and market their brands. AIM’s membership groups 1800 companies of all sizes through corporate members and national associations in 22 countries."

"The American Academy of Advertising (AAA) is an organization of advertising scholars and professionals with an interest in advertising and advertising education. The Academy fosters research that is relevant to the field and provides a forum for the exchange of ideas among its academic and professional members. Through the Journal of Advertising, the Journal of Interactive Advertising and the annual conference Proceedings, the Academy disseminates research findings and scholarly contributions to advertising education and the profession."

"Founded in 1906, American Business Media is positioned at the center of the global b-to-b ecosystem. As the only association focused on the integrated b-to-b media model – which includes print publications, events, digital media and business information – ABM delivers intelligence to industry professionals worldwide, including Madison Avenue, Wall Street and the Beltway. ABM’s approximately 300 member companies reach an audience of more than 100 million professionals and represent nearly 6,000 print and online titles and over 1,000 trade shows, with well over $33 billion in annual revenues."

"The American Marketing Association (AMA) was established in 1937 by visionaries in marketing and academia. Today, the AMA has grown to be one of the largest marketing associations in the world, with over 30,000 members who work, teach and study in the field of marketing across the globe."

"Mission is to "Unify all Asian associations involved in the various aspects of advertising. Upgrade standards, ethics and practices of advertising and to bring a more meaningful contribution from advertising activities to both regional and national socio-economic development."

"The Digital Marketing Association is here to represent and support professionals in this industry. We provide useful information on qualifications and courses in Digital Marketing and its related fields."

"EACA, the European Association of Communications Agencies is an organisation, which brings together the advertising, media and sales promotions agencies across Europe, enabling international experience and issues to be shared and dealt with on a pan-European basis. It provides an important link between agencies, advertisers and the advertising media in Europe and around the world and participates closely in the setting of standards in many aspects of the business across Europe."

"The AAWM Association, and more particularly its various Award Programs, were designed to supply formal recognition and acknowledge the hard work and dedication that each applicant has put into design their web sites using their own brand of style creativity, and content. It is to these sites that we owe our thanks as they are the primary reason that our Website Design Award Program is growing so rapidly and gathering so much critical acclaim in the world of the Internet."

"AIGA, the professional association for design, stimulates thinking about design, demonstrates the value of design and empowers the success of designers at each stage of their careers. AIGA’s mission is to advance designing as a professional craft, strategic tool and vital cultural force. Founded in 1914, AIGA remains the oldest and largest professional membership organization for design, and is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) educational institution."

"The Advertising and Illustrative Photographers Association (AIPA) was founded in the spring of 1978 by a small group of Auckland photographers who felt there was a need for more communication with regard to issues specific to commercial photography. This founding group knew that people working in the advertising and editorial fields were very individualistic characters (i.e. non-joiners of traditional groups) so the rules and aims of the association were framed to allow for that independence and to concentrate only on these areas of the photographic industry. Later that year the association became an incorporated society."

"Promotes the development, application, and understanding in digital media and arts. Aims to enhance and expand knowledge in the diverse field of digital media and arts. Provides a source of academic networking for sharing ideas among faculty and students. Facilitates collaboration and cooperation among professionals, colleagues, and organizations."

"ICA creates programs of the highest quality to advance knowledge of the medium. These include exhibitions, collections, and education for the general public, members, students, and professionals in the field of photography. Photography occupies a vital and central place in contemporary culture; it reflects and influences social change, provides an historical record, is essential to visual communication and education, opens new opportunities for personal and aesthetic expression, has transformed popular culture, has revolutionized scientific research, and continually evolves to incorporate new technologies."

Is "a women-focused and community-based organization, DigitalEve draws upon the collective strength of its rapidly growing worldwide network of local chapters to create a united voice that recognizes and emphasizes the influence of women in the field of new media technology - at all levels of involvement, ages, cultures, and abilities."

"From the Internet to the iPod, technologies are transforming our society and empowering us as speakers, citizens, creators, and consumers. When our freedoms in the networked world come under attack, the Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) is the first line of defense. EFF broke new ground when it was founded in 1990 — well before the Internet was on most people's radar — and continues to confront cutting-edge issues defending free speech, privacy, innovation, and consumer rights today. From the beginning, EFF has championed the public interest in every critical battle affecting digital rights."

"Promotes the study and appreciation of graphic arts. Houses art exhibitions, books, prints, and printing facilities. Organizes workshops and public events and produces publications related to graphic arts."

"The International Graphic Arts Education Association (IGAEA) is an association of educators in partnership with industry, dedicated to sharing theories, principles, techniques and processes relating to graphic communications and imaging technology.

Gifts to the Association’s general fund help it to fulfill its goals. In particular, funds from gifts may be used to provide scholarship money for those studying to become graphic arts teachers and to help graphic arts teachers attend their first IGAEA conference."

"As a professional trade association, PMA helps the worldwide photo imaging community achieve business success and adapt to new technologies. PMA continues its 90-year legacy of connecting photo imaging businesses to a network of knowledge and support.."

"Uniting those who see the extraordinary in the ordinary, the Photo Imaging Education Association (PIEA) inspires its members to become better teachers at every level of education. PIEA is an international network of educators and students creating resources, solving problems, sharing ideas, and building stronger relationships with the photo industry."

"We are entrepreneurs, business owners, managers, influencers and strategic decision makers. Our goal is a non-competitive environment where we can learn, share and have fun together: informing, inspiring, and empowering business through social, digital, and future media."

"The UPAA is an international organization of college and university photographers concerned with the application and practice of photography as it relates to the higher education setting."

"The World Organization of Webmasters is a non-profit professional association dedicated to the support of individuals and organizations who create, manage or market web sites. WOW provides education as well as certification, technical, employment and member advantage services to thousands of aspiring and practicing web professionals worldwide."

"It seeks to promote research into the impact of media on human behavior; to facilitate interaction between psychology and media representatives; to enrich the teaching, training, and practice of media psychology; and to prepare psychologists to interpret psychological research to the lay public and to other professionals. The Division has liaisons with the APA Education, Practice, Science, and Public Interest Directorates."

"The Association for Women in Communications is the one organization that recognizes the complex relationships that exist across communications disciplines. Modern communicators must demonstrate competence in varied disciplines and be able to network and make career moves across the broad spectrum of communications fields."

"The Center for Media and Public Affairs (CMPA) is a nonpartisan research and educational organization which conducts scientific studies of news and entertainment media. CMPA's goal is to provide an empirical basis for ongoing debates over media coverage and impact through well-documented, timely, and readable studies."

"The mission of Independent Arts & Media is to expand civic dialogue by increasing access to independent voices."

"The International Association for Media and Communication Research - IAMCR - is the worldwide professional organisation in the field of media and communication research. Its members promote global inclusiveness and excellence within the best traditions of critical research in the field."

"The International Association for Media and History is an organization of scholars, filmmakers, broadcasters and archivists dedicated to historical inquiry into film, radio, television, and other related media."

"Our mission is to challenge abusive stereotypes and other biased information commonly found in the media through education and action. Media Watch endorses media literacy as part of standard curriculum in our K-12 educational system. We provide monthly ACTION newsletters to help create more informed consumers of the mass media. We do not endorse in any form of censorship, especially the continued silencing of marginalized groups. Corporate owned media is known to use any image or story to manipulate buying power and sway public opinion, regardless of the harm engendered by their information and images. We believe people’s health and safety must always take priority over profit."

"The Center for Media and Public Affairs (CMPA) is a nonpartisan research and educational organization which conducts scientific studies of news and entertainment media. CMPA's goal is to provide an empirical basis for ongoing debates over media coverage and impact through well-documented, timely, and readable studies."

"The objective or purpose to be promoted or carried on by Media Rating Council isTo secure for the media industry and related users audience measurement services that are valid, reliable and effective."

"The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues. In this role it serves as a valuable information resource for political leaders, journalists, scholars and citizens."

“Established in 1933, the Traffic Audit Bureau for Media Measurement Inc, now Geopath, is a non-profit organization whose historical mission has been to audit the circulation of out of home media in the United States. Recently TAB’s role has been expanded to lead and/or support other major out of home industry research initiatives. Governed by a tripartite board comprised of advertisers, agencies and media companies, the TAB acts an independent auditor for traffic circulation in accordance to guidelines established by its Board of Directors. These rules govern both how audits are conducted as well as how circulation figures are reported. “

"AMEJA has hundreds of members from around the world. Our members trace their origins to Egypt, Syria, Lebanon, Palestine, Iraq, Iran, Pakistan, Turkey, and Afghanistan, among other places. They work for organizations such as The Associated Press, Reuters, ABC, Al Jazeera, Al Arabiya, CNN, NBC, The New York Times, Financial Times, The Wall Street Journal and Bloomberg News."

"The Asian American Journalists Association (AAJA) was founded in 1981 by a few Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) journalists who felt a need to support one another and to encourage more Asian American and Pacific Islanders to pursue journalism at a time when there were few Asian American and Pacific Islander faces in the media."

"The CAJ is the national voice of Canadian journalists. We are committed to protecting the public’s right to know. We are dedicated to promoting excellence in journalism from the university classroom to the national stage. The Canadian Association of Journalists offers you a chance to take part in and continue to grow the profession you have chosen as your own."

"The Chartered Institute of Journalists is the oldest organisation of its kind in the world.Founded in 1884 as the Association of Journalists, the Institute was awarded a Royal Charter in 1890 and became the Institute of Journalists. 100 years later we were awarded a supplemental Royal Charter and became the Chartered Institute of Journalists.As membership organisation we have been protecting and serving the best interests or journalists and journalism for more than 120 years."

"The News Fund is a national foundation supported by Dow Jones & Co., Inc., Dow Jones Foundation and others within the news industry. Our emphasis is on education for students and educators as part of our mission to promote careers in journalism."

"The European Newspaper Publishers' Association (ENPA) is an international non-profit association, advocating the interests of the European newspaper publishing industry at different European and international organisations and institutions."

"The European Journalism Centre (EJC) is an independent, international, non-profit institute dedicated to the highest standards in journalism, primarily through the further training of journalists and media professionals. Building on its extensive international network, the Centre operates as a facilitator and partner in a wide variety of training projects."

"The Fund for Investigative Journalism was founded in 1969 by the late Philip M. Stern, a public-spirited philanthropist who devoted his life “to balancing the scales of justice,” in the words of a friend. Stern was convinced small amounts of money invested in the work of determined journalists would yield enormous results in the fight against racism, poverty, corporate greed and governmental corruption. Stern’s theory proved true in the Fund’s first year, when a tiny grant of $250 enabled reporter Seymour Hersh to begin investigating a tip concerning a U.S. Army massacre at the Vietnamese village of My Lai. A subsequent Fund grant of $2,000 allowed Hersh to finish reporting the story."

"The Inter American Press Association (English acronym for Sociedad Interamericana de Prensa, Inc.,) is a nonprofit organization devoted to defending freedom of speech and freedom of the press in the Americas."

"Founded in 1925 as the Fédération Internationale de la Presse Périodique, the International Federation of the Periodical Press (FIPP) works for the benefit of magazine publishers around the world; promoting the common editorial, cultural and economic interests of consumer and business-to-business publishers, both in print and electronic media."

"The JOURNALIST ASSOCIATION OF INDIA (JAI) (Non-Profit Organization) is working and fighting to protect for freedom of expression.Welfare, rights of media worldwide/from last one and half decade, professional development for writers, editors, journalists.
Publishers, correspondents, reporters, freelance writers, public relations professionals, photographers and other persons/individuals/organization serving in the field of media sector. Non-Profit Organization venture among independent producers and distributors. "

"The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is an organization of journalists, students and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services to and advocates on behalf of black journalists worldwide. Founded by 44 men and women on December 12, 1975, in Washington, D.C., NABJ is the largest organization of journalists of color in the nation. Many of NABJ's 3,300 members also belong to one of the dozens of professional and student chapters that serve black journalists nationwide."

"The National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ) is dedicated to the recognition and professional advancement of Hispanics in the news industry. Established in April 1984, NAHJ created a national voice and unified vision for all Hispanic journalists."

"A diverse association of jouranlism and related news professionals supporting the first amendments and women issuses. "

"Founded in 1990, NLGJA is an organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students working from within the news industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of LGBT issues. NLGJA opposes all forms of workplace bias and provides professional development to its members."

"The primary mission of the National Press Foundation is to increase journalists' knowledge of complex issues in order to improve public understanding. The foundation recognizes and encourages excellence in journalism through its awards and programs."

"The Native American Journalists Association serves and empowers Native journalists through programs and actions designed to enrich journalism and promote Native cultures.

NAJA recognizes Native Americans as distinct peoples based on tradition and culture. In this spirit, NAJA educates and unifies its membership through journalism programs that promote diversity and defends challenges to free press, speech and expression. NAJA is committed to increase the representation of Native journalists in mainstream media. NAJA encourages both mainstream and tribal media to attain the highest standards of professionalism, ethics and responsibility."

“NAA is a nonprofit organization representing nearly 2,000 newspapers and their multiplatform businesses in the U.S. and Canada. NAA members include daily newspapers, as well as non-dailies, other print publications and on-line products. Headquartered near Washington, D.C., in Arlington, Va., the association focuses on the major issues that affect today’s newspaper industry: public policy/legal matters, advertising revenue growth and audience development across the medium’s broad portfolio of products and digital platforms.”

"Founded as a print journalists' union, the Guild today is primarily a media union whose members are diverse in their occupations, but who share the view that the best working conditions are achieved by people who have a say in their workplace."

"The Online News Association is composed largely of professional digital journalists. Founded in 1999, ONA now has more than 1,600 professional members whose principal livelihood involves gathering or producing news for digital presentation. The membership includes news writers, producers, designers, editors, photographers, technologists and others who produce news for the Internet or other digital delivery systems, as well as academic members and others interested in the development of online journalism. ONA also sponsors an annual conference focusing on the latest in journalism and technology and administers the prestigious Online Journalism Awards."

"To ensure that the concept of self-government outlined by the U.S. Constitution remains a reality into future centuries, the American people must be well informed in order to make decisions regarding their lives, and their local and national communities."

"As the world-wide service and representative organization of newspapers and the entire news publishing industry, WAN-IFRA is dedicated to support this industry as well as its technology and service providers..."

"The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is based in Los Angeles. It honors prime-time programming. It is comprised of 26 "peer groups" whose work is aired nationally and whose members are eligible to vote for the Emmy Awards. Peer groups are based on areas of expertise. They cover all fields of television work, from network executives to hair stylists; from performers to cinematographers. The Academy also encompasses a Los Angeles branch whose members work in Southern California."

"ACE, the AMERICAN CINEMA EDITORS, is an honorary society of motion picture editors founded in 1950. Film editors are voted into membership on the basis of their professional achievements, their dedication to the education of others and their commitment to the craft of editing."

"The American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (AFTRA) is a national labor union representing over 70,000 performers, journalists and other artists working in the entertainment and news media."

"The American Society of Cinematographers is a non-profit association dedicated to advancing the art of filmmaking."

"Since 1982, The Alliance of Motion Picture & Television Producers (AMPTP) has been the trade association responsible for negotiating virtually all the industry-wide guild and union contracts, including the American Federation of Musicians (AFM); American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (AFTRA); Directors Guild of America (DGA); International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE); International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW); Laborers Local 724; Screen Actors Guild (SAG); Teamsters Local 399, and Writers Guild of America (WGA)."

"HRTS (Hollywood Radio & TV Society) is the entertainment industry’s premier information and networking forum. Chartered since 1947, the HRTS gathers together leading industry executives and companies representing broadcast and cable networks, studios, talent and management agencies, producers, legal and financial firms, new media companies and more to address issues that are relevant to the ongoing success and future of our business. Current HRTS membership represents over 700 executives and 48 leading companies from across the entire industry landscape."

"The Independent Film & Television Alliance (IFTA) is the trade association of independent producers and distributors of motion picture and television programming worldwide. Formerly known as the American Film Marketing Association, the non-profit organization was established in 1980 by a group of independents whose main goal was to expand the independent film business by creating a world-class trade show, the American Film Market (AFM)."

"The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a membership based organization comprised of leading media and entertainment figures from over 50 countries and 500 companies from all sectors of television including internet, mobile and technology. The Academy’s yearly schedule of events includes the prestigious International Emmy® Awards Ceremony held in New York, The International Digital Emmy® Awards at MIPTV and a series of industry events such as Academy Day, The International Emmy® World Television Festival and Panels on substantive industry topics."

""IRTS brings together the wisdom of yesterday's founders and the power of today's leaders to train and educate the next generation of media and communication professionals. Our programs and diversity initiatives help insure that the business responsible for informing, entertaining, and educating the public reaches its highest potential in this exciting digital age."

"The National Association of Broadcasters is the voice for the nation’s radio and television broadcasters. As the premier trade association for broadcasters, NAB advances the interests of our members in federal government, industry and public affairs; improves the quality and profitability of broadcasting; encourages content and technology innovation; and spotlights the important and unique ways stations serve their communities."

TVB is the not-for-profit trade association of America’s commercial broadcast television industry. Its members include television broadcast groups, advertising sales reps, syndicators, international broadcasters, associate members and over 500 individual television stations. TVB actively promotes local media marketing solutions to the advertising community, and in so doing works to develop advertising dollars for the medium’s multiple platforms, including on-air, website and mobile. TVB provides a diverse variety of tools and resources, including this website, to support its members and to help advertisers make the best use of local ad dollars.

"The mission of TVSpy is to connect television professionals with each other and with professionals in related media industries, as well as with unique inside information to give them an edge as they build their careers and businesses in video media."

"The Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS) is an organization of men and women who practice public relations in Canada and abroad. Members work to maintain the highest standards and to share a uniquely Canadian experience in public relations."

"IPRA will be the world’s most relevant, resourceful and influential professional association for senior international public relations executives."

"As an independent nonprofit dedicated to the science beneath the art of public relations ™ , the Institute for Public Relations bridges the academy and the profession, supports PR research and mainstreams this knowledge into practice through PR education."

"Chartered in 1947, the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is the world’s largest and foremost organization of public relations professionals. PRSA provides professional development, sets standards of excellence and upholds principles of ethics for its members and, more broadly, the multi-billion dollar global public relations profession. We also advocate for greater understanding and adoption of public relations services, and act as one of the industry’s leading voices on the important business and professional issues of our time."

"The national association of PR practitioners was established in 1958 to promote the recognition of public relations as a profession and to formulate and interpret to the public the objectives and the potentialities of public relations as a strategic management function."

"The American Copy Editors Society is a professional organization working toward the advancement of copy editors in newspapers, magazines, Web sites and other journalistic endeavors. Our aim is to provide solutions to copy desk problems through training, discussion and an awareness of common issues."

"Founded in 1964, the American Society of Business Publication Editors (ASBPE) is the professional association for full-time and freelance editors and writers employed in the business, trade, and specialty press."

"The American Society of News Editors, founded in 1922 as a nonprofit professional organization, focuses on leadership development and journalism-related issues. ASNE promotes fair, principled journalism, defends and protects First Amendment rights, and fights for freedom of information and open government. Leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion in coverage and the journalism work force, youth journalism and the sharing of ideas are also key ASNE initiatives"

"The Center for Media and Public Affairs (CMPA) is a nonpartisan research and educational organization which conducts scientific studies of news and entertainment media. CMPA's goal is to provide an empirical basis for ongoing debates over media coverage and impact through well-documented, timely, and readable studies."

"STC is an individual membership organization dedicated to advancing the arts and sciences of technical communication. It is the largest organization of its type in the world.Its 14,000 members include technical writers and editors, content developers, documentation specialists, technical illustrators, instructional designers, academics, information architects, usability and human factors professionals, visual designers, Web designers and developers, and translators - anyone whose work makes technical information available to those who need it."

"Members of the Society of American Business Editors and Writers Inc. have joined together in the common pursuit of the highest standards of economic journalism, through both individual and collective efforts. Recognizing that economic freedom is inextricably linked to political freedom and that an informed citizenry can ensure that these freedoms are sustained, it is the Society’s mission as an independent, not-for-profit organization to encourage comprehensive reporting of economic events without fear or favoritism and to upgrade skills and knowledge through continuous educational efforts."