Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Tech Returns: What to know about using NYIT Libraries for Summer 2021. View the latest information

Education: Reference Books

Find and access online/electronic, print and media resources supporting education research, classroom teaching methods, learning solutions, and more.

About these Resources

Some of the best Library resources are *PRINT items. Many of the education reference tools listed here, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc., can be found on the shelves of the NYIT Library in the locations indicated. Other items listed here are electronic/online resources (e-books), accessible online (but requiring your myNYIT Portal/E-mail LOGIN if you are off campus).

*The Library has photocopiers, but you'll need flex funds on your student ID to use them. Cost: 10 cents per copy.

Reference Resources (Books) / Print & Electronic

Dictionaries / Directories / Encyclopedias / Handbooks / Miscellaneous Resources

The following multi-subject education *REFERENCE items are a great place to start gathering solid background information on almost ANY education topic. This is especially true of the encyclopedias listed below. Though substantially representative of Library holdings, what follows is only a PARTIAL list of relevant resources:


TITLE **CALL NUMBER LOCATION
American Educators' Encyclopedia Ref. LB15 .D37 OW
Dictionary of Education ONLINE
Dictionary of Ed. Acronyms, Abbreviations, Initialisms Ref. LB15 .P35 OW/NYC
Early Childhood Ed.: an International Encyclopedia Ref. LB1139.23 .E272 OW
Encyclopedia of American Education
Ref. LB17 .U54
OW
Encyclopedia of Education ONLINE
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development Ref. LB15 .E473 OW
Encyclopedia of Educational Research Ref. LB15 .E48 OW
Encyclopedia of Ed. Leadership and Administration Ref. LB2805 .E527 OW
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education  ONLINE
Encyclopedia of School Psychology Ref. 1027.55 .E523 OW
Greenwood Dictionary of Education
Ref. LB15 .G68
OW
Handbook of Private Schools Ref. L901 .H3
OW
Handbook of Research Design in Math. & Sci. Ed. ONLINE
Handbook of Research For Ed. Comm. & Technology Ref. LB1028.3 .H355 OW
Handbook of Research on Teaching Ref. LB1028 .H315 OW
Historical Dictionary of American Education Ref. LB15 .H57 OW
Migrant Education: a Reference Handbook ONLINE
Patterson's American Education Ref. L901 .P3 OW
Patterson's Elementary Education
Ref. L901 .P3    OW
Special Education: a Reference Handbook ONLINE
The Cambridge Handbook of Multimedia Learning Ref. LB1028.5 .C283 OW
The Literacy Dictionary Ref. LB1049.98 .L58 OW
The Praeger Handbook of Learning and the Brain Ref. LB1060 .P683 OW
The Sage Handbook of E-Learning Research Ref. LB1028.5  .S17 OW/NYC
World Education Encyclopedia ONLINE

*The above PRINT reference books do NOT circulate and are for IN-LIBRARY use only. To find CIRCULATING books, which you CAN borrow, consult the NYIT online materials catalog BEARCAT.

**If you browse among these call numbers on Library shelves, you'll find many additional education resources in print format.
© 2020 New York Institute of Technology