LibGuides: Poetry: Articles & Databases

What's a Database?

"A usually large collection of data organized especially for rapid search and retrieval." -- Merriam-Webster Dictionary

Find Poems

Check out these databases for full-text versions of your primary texts.

Poetry for Students
Poetry for Students features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.

Databases

Check out the databases below for scholarly articles, biographical information, poem overviews, and much more. If you see the information icon next to one of the databases listed on this page, click it for more information.

Bloom's Literary Reference This link opens in a new window
Biography, criticism and videos in literature from ancient Greece to the present.
Educator's Reference Complete: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Directories providing comprehensive source of detailed information concerning nonprofit organizations of national and multinational scope.

JStor
JSTOR archives and provides access to archival and current issues of more than 1,400 scholarly journals across more than 50 academic disciplines. JSTOR includes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, primary source materials, and, launching in spring 2012, books.

Literature Resource Center: Gale This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Biographies, multimedia, literature criticism, primary sources & literary works, reviews & news.

MagillOnLiterature Plus
This database is composed of approximately 35,000 critical analyses of individual works of literature, more than 15,000 biographical records, more than 5,000 images, and a glossary of 1,100 literary terms. MagillOnLiterature Plus contains editorially reviewed critical essays, brief plot summaries, extended character profiles, and detailed setting discussions covering works by more than 8,500 long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers.
more...less...
The biographical essays reflect extended coverage of the 2,500 most studied authors and include up-to-date lists of each author's principal works and current secondary bibliographies. In addition, 378 comprehensive genre-driven overview essays provide details about important literary genres, time periods, and national literatures.

Librarian

NYIT Library

Email Me

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to find academic-quality information (articles, papers, reports) on the Web.