Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Tech Returns: What to know about using NYIT Libraries for Fall 2021. View the latest information

The New York Institute of Technology: Historical Resources: Databases Worth Searching

For NYIT History Seekers

The NYIT Library provides numerous databases containing historical info about the College. The newspaper providing the best historical coverage of Long Island, and hence, of NYIT's Old Westbury and Central Islip campuses, is Newsday.

The Library's Newsday database contains many articles about NYIT on Long Island. But other databases provide historical coverage, as well, including coverage of NYIT's other campuses.

Newspaper & Journal Databases

New York Senator Chuck Schumer often addressed NYIT Graduations in the early 2000s.


Any and all of these Library databases are worth searching:


NEWSPAPER DATABASES

Newsday (1985 - current)

The New York Times (1980 - current)

The New York Times Historical (1851 - 2008)

InfoTrac Newsstand (1980 - current)


JOURNAL DATABASES

Academic OneFile (Gale/Infotrac)

Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost)

ERIC (EBSCOhost)

ProQuest Education Journals (ProQuest)

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)

ProQuest Central (ProQuest)

 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Eduardo Rivera
Contact:
Salten Hall
Northern Blvd - 8000
New York Institute of Technology
Old Westbury, NY 11568-8000
516.686.1154
© 2020 New York Institute of Technology