Veteran Resources

NYIT provides access to 100s of different databases. These databases provide everything from the latest journal articles to digital images of historic documents, as well as access to ebooks, datasets, and other scholarly information.

The following databases are useful for locating various information about business and careers.

• Business Source Complete – Find information about companies that you might work for: history, news, and analysis.
• Academic Search Complete – Large, multidisciplinary database with plenty of full-text journal articles. User-friendly and a good starting place for most topics.
• Vocations & Career Collection  This database contains a collection of periodicals supporting vocational education and career research. It provides support for finding the right career, enrolling in an appropriate institution of learning or training, searching for a job, and advancing in one's career through continuing education.
• Glassdoor – Find millions of the latest jobs, salary reports, interview reviews and questions, benefits, and CEO reviews. Also included are reviews written by employees that highlight the pro's and con's of working for a particular employer.

 The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the first place to get a summary on some of the facts about different careers in the United States. More recent information about career fields is available in the Bureau of Labor Statistics online publication Career Outlook.

For hundreds of different types of jobs—such as teacher, lawyer, and nurse—the Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you:

• training and education needed
• earnings
• expected job prospects
• what workers do on the job
• working conditions

You can use the handbook online by putting your search terms in the search box, or you can use the A-Z Index and see all the job titles available.

Pro Tip: For additional details on 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy search O*NET. O*NET is a tool developed by the U.S. Department of Labor that is useful in learning more about specific career fields and assessing prior military occupational skills and training.

• NYIT Career Services – Career data and job search tools.
• Veterans Affairs
  • Careers and Employment – Assistance in finding employment. Includes jobs posted by employers.
  • On-The-Job Training and Apprenticeship
  • Veterans Opportunity to Work
  • Licensing and Certification
• Find military friendly jobs
  • Veteran Jobs
  • RecruitMilitary.com
  • VetCentral.us.jobs
  • Veterans Career Center – The American Legion helps veterans find employers who understand their skills and values.
  • State Jobs NY
• Private industry
  • Google Careers
  • Amazon.jobs
• New York Small Business Development Center (NYSBDC) – Veterans business program.
• Troops to Teachers
• Transitioning To Civilian Life

• National Resource Directory – Find the resources you need as you transition from the military to a civilian career, identify programs and workplace supports for wounded warriors, and learn more about employment rights, protections and responsibilities.
   
• Office of Veterans Business Development, Small Business Administration – This agency's mission is to maximize the availability, applicability and usability of all administration small business programs for Veterans, Service-Disabled Veterans, Reserve Component Members, and their Dependents or Survivors.
   
• Veterans' Employment and Training Service, U.S. Department of Labor – Provides resources to assist veterans to prepare them to obtain meaningful careers, maximize their employment opportunities, and protect their employment rights.