LibGuides: Nursing: Locating Information

Locate Drug Information

AccessMedicine: Drug Monographs
The Drug Monographs in AccessMedicine can be searched, browsed alphabetically, or filtered by generics, trade names, and drug classes. Patient education handouts also are available in English and Spanish. The drug monographs are updated every two weeks.
ClinicalKey: Drug Monographs
Allows you to quickly locate drug monographs which will include a drug's description, precautions, adverse reactions, pharmacokinetics, and more.
DailyMed
Database of the most recent drug labels (package inserts) submitted to the FDA.
Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements
Learn about prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines, dietary supplements, and herbal remedies.
LactMed
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate.
Micromedex
Drug and dosage information, toxicological substances, patient information databases, and other data to support clinical care decisions. Mobile version available.
NCCIH: National Center for Complementary & Integrative Health
The NCCIH conducts and supports research and provides information about complementary health products and practices in the context of whole person health.
Orange Book
Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (commonly referred to as the Orange Book) identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act) and related patent and exclusivity information. Online edition updated monthly.
RxNorm
RxNorm provides normalized names for clinical drugs and links its names to many of the drug vocabularies commonly used in pharmacy management and drug interaction software, including those of First Databank, Micromedex, Multum, and Gold Standard Drug Database.
UpToDate
A full-text clinical resource that provides instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked questions in clinical practice.

Care Plans

In addition to the book below, you can search CINAHL for nursing care plans. To do so, go to CINAHL and type in the relevant key words. Then there are two options for finding care plans.

Type in any of these subject headings:
- MH "Nursing Care Plans"
- MH "Patient Care Plans"
Or, under Advanced Search, scroll down to Publication Type and select Care Plan.

Maternal Newborn Nursing Care Plans by Carol J. Green
Call Number: WY 157.3 M425 2016

ISBN: 9781284038538

Publication Date: 2014-12-23

Print only
Nursing Care Plans by Meg Gulanick; Judith L. Myers
ISBN: 9780323711180

Publication Date: 2021-06-25

Print only
Nursing Care Plans by Lynda J. Carpenito
Call Number: WY 100.1 C294 2017

ISBN: 9781496349262

Publication Date: 2017-02-15

Print only
Nursing Care Plans and Documentation by Lynda Juall Carpenito
Call Number: WY 100 C294n 2009

ISBN: 9780781770644

Publication Date: 2008-11-04

Print only
Psychiatric Nursing by Mary C. Townsend
Call Number: WY 49 T749 2015

ISBN: 9780803642379

Publication Date: 2014-08-19

Print only

Open Nursing Education Resources

University of Michigan: Nursing Resources
Open courses through University of Michigan's School of Nursing. Free courses include Perspectives in Global Health, Utilization of Nursing Research in Advanced Practice, The Impact of Language and Culture on Healthcare Delivery, and more.
Medline Plus Interactive Games
Test your knowledge about health, wellness, diseases, and conditions with these quizzes.
Health Check Tools
Assess your health with interactive tools such as calculators, quizzes, and questionnaires. You can check your risk for heart disease, calculate your ideal weight and body mass, find out how many calories your favorite exercise burns, and more.
Wisc-Online: Nursing
Animated and interactive learning objects related to the field of nursing.
Nursing Simulation Library
The Nursing Simulation Scenario Library is a resource for nursing educators in all settings and made possible by the generosity of the Healthcare Initiative Foundation. Each library listing contains video (used either independently or with accompanying document(s) to enhance education using simulation in any setting) and accompanying documents (used as guides for educators to recreate content in areas relevant to practice).

Patient Education

Below you will find some resources for providing patient education. The American Medical Association (AMA) recommends that patient materials be wrttien at the sixth grade level, while the NIH recommends patient materials be written in clear and simple language.

MedlinePlus: Health Information
Find links to health information that is easier to read, understand, and use. These materials are designed to be clear and to follow best practices in health literacy. The links on this page are arranged alphabetically by health topic.
UpToDate: Patient Education
UpToDate offers two levels of content for patients: The Basics and Beyond the Basics. The former provides short overviews while the latter are longer, more detailed reviews and are best suited for readers who want detailed information and are comfortable with some medical terminology.
Health Information Translations
Easy-to-read, shareable health education in 15+ languages. You can further narrow by health topic then select Spanish or one of the other 20 languages to choose from.

Nursing

On This Page

Locating...

Locate Drug Information

Care Plans

Open Nursing Education Resources

Patient Education