LibGuides: Zines: Welcome

"Zines have been a means for diverse and often disadvantaged people to reject mainstream and technological modes of publication and communication in favor of low-fi, hand-made print.
They have been associated with nostalgia, craft, artistic self-expression, and the underground music scene."

- Christopher Marcatili on Zines and Social Justice, Freilich Project for the Study of Bigotry at the Australian National University

Welcome to the zine guide! Read on to learn the history and scope of the and culture behind self-publishing 'Zines, Examples of zines, tips and templates to make your own zine, and further reading.

What is a Zine?

A zine is generally a self-published, minimally circulated piece of artwork done by independent creators. They can have text images, stickers, and more. Zines come in many forms: art, photography, DIY, political, and others!

Loud on Paper Library Guide
An example from Purdue Libraries of what a zine is, as well as common characteristics.
New York Public Library
The New York Public Library presents its own collection of zines as well as a definition of the meaning.

How to make a zine

Examples from the Library of Congress for zine making
The Library of Congress presents the history of zines as well as examples of how to create them.
How to make a zine from the Creative Independent
An in-depth description of how to create a zine, including choice of topics
Want to Make a Zine?
Tips from zine makers on zine creation
Zine Template PDF
The zine template used for the event. Print double sided and flip on short edge.

Explore these Zine Collections

Barnard College Zine Library
This is a collection of zines from Barnard College, including zine libraries in other countries as well as zines created during the Covid-19 pandemic.
Papercut Zine Library
This library has over 16,000+ zines, as well as a virtual collection for user perusal.
The Women's Zine Collection
The Women’s Zine Collection contains zines that were featured in a 2007 exhibit at the Wignall Museum at Chaffey College in Rancho Cucamonga titled 'Girly Show: Pin-Ups, Zines & the So-Called Third Wave,' and includes exhibit programs.

Zine History

ABC No Rio
The ABC No Rio zine library collects zines on topics such as countercultures, social movements, and asymmetrical social conditions.
Visiting Zine Archives in New York City
A discussion of the zine scene in New York City, as well as the history of zines and their meaning.
The Modern Met Zine Article
A description of the history of the zine, as well as recommendations on their creation

Zines: Welcome

"Zines have been a means for diverse and often disadvantaged people to reject mainstream and technological modes of publication and communication in favor of low-fi, hand-made print. They have been associated with nostalgia, craft, artistic self-expression, and the underground music scene."