LibGuides: Open Access: Journals & Books

Featured Journal

PLOS Biology
"Featuring works of exceptional significance, originality, and relevance in all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems, including works at the interface of other disciplines, such as chemistry, medicine, and mathematics."

Directories of Open Access Journals & Books

Directories provide searchable information about the subject areas, organizations, and content type offered by open access journals in all academic disciplines.

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Subjects: This service covers all subjects and languages in free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. As of March 2011 there are over 6000 journals in the directory.

Directory of Open Access Books

Public Domain & Open Access Books

Search and access the full text of books freely available as open access and those in the public domain.

Project Gutenberg
"Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks."
Hathi Trust Digital Library
"HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world."
Internet Archive Text Archive
"The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books."
Open Folklore
" a new scholarly resource that will make a greater number and variety of useful resources, both published and unpublished, available for the field of folklore studies and the communities with which folklore scholars partner."

More Open Access Resources

Visit our section on repositories to find more open access content.

Open access repositories provide access to research from a variety of authors, most often from the same institution.

Use one of our suggested search engines to find items published open access.

Open access search engines provide a single search interface for finding research from many different journals and repositories.