Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Tech Returns: What to know about using New York Tech Libraries for Fall 2022. View the latest information

Interior Design: Interior Design

Welcome! An Introduction to sources for Interior Design.

Popular Research Topics

Find Drawings, Plans, and Sections with the Images Film & Media Guide

Connect with Librarians: Live-Chat with a LibrarianDrop-in on Zoom or call 516-686-7579.

Stay current with Architecture and Design Journals.

Join or Request a Research Skills Tutorials and Workshops.

Material Design & Discovery (DSGN 224)

Materials Resources & Research Catalogs

Healthy Materials Lab

Explore this extensive source from the Parsons School of Design. Includes curated material collections, courses, a glossary, and case studies.

Material Order 

 A shared database for design material collections managed by Harvard GSD’s Frances Loeb Library, RISD’s Fleet Library, and Parsons Donghia Healthier Materials Library

   Material Bank - University Program
(use your @nyit.edu account to establish a free account for saving and annotating materials).

Material District

Innovative materials website which includes collection channels for BiobasedSustainable, and Ecology.

Mindful Materials

Mindful MATERIALS is a free platform with aggregated information on human health and environmental impacts for products from leading manufacturers, vetted by experts passionate about making it easier to make informed product choices.

Sweets Catalog

OPEN Material Discovery Worksheet

Library Databases

Citations and Academic Integrity

CitationsPortrait of Walter Gropius taken by Josef Albers.

  • Confirm the citation style such as MLA, Chicago and APA required by your professor.
  • The Purdue Online Writing Lab - Chicago Manual of Style with Citation Machine provides general guidelines how to cite different works.
  • Refer to the Chicago Manual of Style Citation Quick Guide
  • Build your bibliography with Citation Generators such as Knight Cite; and Citation Builder or the internal reference list using MSOffice.
  • ALWAYS Give Credit for Images, Diagrams, and Figures: 
    • Include the following information:
      • Author (Artist or Architect); Title; Date; Location/Repository; Material/Medium; Dimensions (if applicable)
      • Write descriptive captions when including images in the text and include a bibliography entry.
  • Cite Images from Books, Articles and Images found on the Web. Include the artist's name, the year the work was created, and the institution (e.g. gallery or museum) that houses it (if applicable), followed by the city where it is located, the URL where you found the image, and when. 
  • Cite Maps & Photographs of a Building - Architectural drawings and Models are subject to copyright.

Example: 

Albers, Josef (German-American painter, theorist, 1888-1976). 1930. Walter Gropius,
Ascona Sommer 30. Place: The Josef and Anni Albers Foundation, http://www.albersfoundation.org.https://library.artstor.org/asset/AALBERT_10311268499.


Related Tutorials and Videos:

Evidence Based Design

What is Evidence Based Design?

Evidence-based Design is a process by which, designers "attain the highest quality of research which leads to the best possible design solutions."

- Linda Nussbaumer, Evidence Based Design for Interior Designers.

Related Course Guide:

DSGN 204

 

References:

Royal Institute of British Architects. Architects and research-based knowledge: A literature review. (2014). https://www.architecture.com/-/media/gathercontent/architects-and-research-based-knowledge/additional-documents/architectsandresearchbasedknowledgeliteraturereviewpdf.pdf

See Also, related guides...

© 2022 New York Institute of Technology