LibGuides: Urban Design & Planning: Images &amp; Media

>Virtual Reality Workstation User's Manual

Virtual Reality and Enscape Tutorial:

Load Enscape Revit Models and explore them with VR.

Art and Architecture Library Virtual Reality Workstation. Rm. 101, Education Hall

HTC Vive Pro and software for design, collaboration, and development.
STEAM platform hosts programs including Arkio, Google Earth, Wander, Open Brush, and virtual exhibitions from museums worldwide.
Read more in the manual,
Stop by the Library or email askalibrarian@nyit.edu to reserve time to use this workstation.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Resource for digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.

African Vernacular Architecture one-of-a-kind collection of present-day photographs of ordinary, traditionally built indigenous homes and other structures from every African country.
more...less...
ARLIS Multimedia and Technology Reivew
OAISTER
Search across Digital Image collections. Check off Open Access.

Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Arch Inform "Tallest" buildings directory.
ArchNet
Open Access database with media, timeline, and pedagogy for Architecture in the Muslim world.
Architects Journal Building Database
New York Public Library Digital Collection (NYPL)
Search from thousands of images from NYPL public domain collection.

Cities and Buildings Database, University Libraries, University of Washington.
http://content.lib.washington.edu/buildingsweb/index.htm
Bildindex der Kunst und Architektur (Germany)
Extensive image collection from throughout Europe.
HABS, HAER, and HALS
http://www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/hh/
"Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS)
Pacific Coast Architecture Database (PCAD)
http://digital.lib.washington.edu/architect/
Philadelphia Architects and Buildings.
http://www.philadelphiabuildings.org/pab/
RIBApix--British Architectural Library (Royal Institute of British Architects)
http://www.ribapix.com/index.php
The Great Buildings Collection
http://www.greatbuildings.com/
1000 buildings documented with images, text, and references.

ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Mechanical engineering

Structurae
Content from civil and structural engineering.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Resource for digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
Bridgeman Art Library Archive-Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of digital images for architecture and the fine and decorative arts.

Art UK
Comprehensive Arts and Design image collections from across the United Kingdom.
AskArt
AskART is an online database containing close to 300,000 artists, with information ranging from biographies to auction records.
Courtald Gallery of Art
Europeana Collections
Artwork from across Europe - Creative Commons
Google Arts & Culture
VADs
140,000+ images from art and design collections in the UK.

Image of Sensoji Temple, famous for its giant red lanterns.

An image of the sky line of New York City, on the water with boats on the foreground. 1896.

An image of Greenwood Cemetery, a large building set in fields with trees around it

An image of the Acropolis, an ancient white building against a blue sky.

An image of a Craftsman house with white siding and a red tile roof.

An image. In the foreground are several boats in water. In the background is a Russian Orthodox Church atop a green hill.

An image of the Pachyderm House from the Chicago Zoo. Stone blocks formed into the shape of a house.

An image of a circular building with a question mark and animal sculptures on top. Inside is a man, he is talking to a man, a woman, and a boy outside of the cart.

An image of the Empire State Building from about halfway up the tower and up.

An image of the Empire State Building from farther back in the city

Film and Video for Design

Canadian Centre for Architecture Channel
JSAH

Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
Movies and Documentaries

Videos & Tutorials
by Eduardo Rivera Last Updated Nov 19, 2024 56 views this year

Guide to Public Domain Video

Architecture, Art, and Design

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB)
ArchNet
Art HIstory Teaching Resources (AHTR)
BASIRA (Books as Symbols in Renaissance Art
BASIRA is an open-access database of representations of books and other documents in art.
Canadian Online Art Book Project
Published by the Art Canada Institute
Hemispheric Institute
The Hemispheric Institute gathers artists, scholars, writers, learners, and activists from across the Americas.
more...less...
We focus on social justice and research politically engaged culture and performance. We share this work in digital archives and amplify it through dialogues and public scholarship, residencies, publications, and gatherings. Our dynamic, multilingual network crosses disciplines and borders, and is grounded in the fundamental belief that artistic practice and critical reflection can spark lasting cultural change.
MIT Press Open
Museum Image Collections
OASIS search results for 'Architecture'
Open Access Architectural Content
Open Access ebooks on the Built Environment
Published by University College London.
Open Access Online Resources from the Getty Research Institute
Open Collections from JStor/ArtStor
Open Access collections of images and primary sources from libraries, museums, and archives around the world.
Smithsonian Open Access Smithsonian Open Access portal provides an inroad to copyright-free digital materials from the far-ranging collections of the Smithsonian Institution. As a freely available web repository accessible to anyone with a browser connection, Smithsonian Open Access opens the intellectual doors of its many divisions, presenting everything from data sets and 3D models to archival material, field notes, biological specimens, and images of artwork, all without restrictions on reuse. In 2020, the Smithsonian released 3 million digital objects into the Open Access portal, and at present over 4.5 million digital objects are included. The materials are drawn from the Smithsonian’s nine research centers, nineteen museums, institutional archives and museums, as well as the National Zoo, representing the arts, the sciences, the humanities, and cultural history.
VADs
140,000+ images from art and design collections in the UK.
World Monuments Fund
World Monuments Fund (WMF) is the leading independent organization devoted to safeguarding the world’s most treasured places to enrich people’s lives and build mutual understanding across cultures and communities.

Open Textbooks for Art History

Course Materials

Open Educational Resources for the Digital Arts & Humanities (OER)
Resources & Recordings from Opening Art and Design Education for a Just and Sustainable World
Project Himalayan Art
Comprehensive resources for teaching about Tibetan, Himalayan, and Inner Asian art and cultures, with a focus on cross-cultural exchange.
SmartHistory - The Center for Public Art History (OER)
Global Architecture History Teaching Collaborative
History & The Arts from Open University

Urban Design & Planning: Images & Media

>Virtual Reality Workstation User's Manual

Virtual Reality and Enscape Tutorial:

Art and Architecture Library Virtual Reality Workstation. Rm. 101, Education Hall

HTC Vive Pro and software for design, collaboration, and development.

STEAM platform hosts programs including Arkio, Google Earth, Wander, Open Brush, and virtual exhibitions from museums worldwide.

Read more in the manual,

Stop by the Library or email askalibrarian@nyit.edu to reserve time to use this workstation.

Film and Video for Design

Architecture, Art, and Design

Open Textbooks for Art History

Course Materials

Visual Plagiarism