LibGuides: Urban Design & Planning: Home

In this Guide

This guide will jump start access to your course resources and research tools. Each Tab outlines resources and best practices to assist your research practice.

Geographic Information Systems

GIS and GeoData have become increasingly sophisticated and comprehensive tools. This tab includes only a small vignette on this knowledge discipline. Work with your colleagues and the librarians to further investigations. Reach out and recommend additional tools.

Architecture and Design Databases

Click on any link below to open a database. Enter NYIT ID when prompted.

Architectural Publications Index This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text or indexed journal articles, books and images in the fine and decorative arts and architecture.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of journal articles on architecture, landscape architecture, historic preservation, and interior design.
JSTOR Language & Literature Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: African studies, art & art history, education, women studies, Latin American studies, Asian studies, American literature
Bridgeman Art Library Archive-Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of digital images for architecture and the fine and decorative arts.

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
MadCad This link opens in a new window
Building codes online.
Environmental Studies and Policy: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Environmental studies focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues.

Greenhomebuilding
more...less...
Information about environmentally friendly, sustainable architecture and natural building, using renewable energy, local and recycled materials, and incorporating principles of conservation. Includes resource links and book and video recommendations.
CumInCAD
CumInCAD is a Cumulative Index about publications in Computer Aided Architectural Design supported by the sibling associations ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SIGraDi, ASCAAD and CAAD futures.
more...less...
Open Access

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text or indexed journal articles, books and images in the fine and decorative arts and architecture.
Bridgeman Art Library Archive-Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of digital images for architecture and the fine and decorative arts.
Fine Arts: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Drama, music, art history, and filmmaking
JSTOR Language & Literature Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: African studies, art & art history, education, women studies, Latin American studies, Asian studies, American literature

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
Engineering, Biomedical, Chemical, Environmental sustainable, Energy Petroleum.
Gardening and Horticulture: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Gardening, home decorating and remodeling, architecture, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Engineering and technology
ScienceDirect- Energy Collection This link opens in a new window
SD is especially helpful for engineering and interdisciplinary research. For example journals and books cover subjects including architecture, structural engineering, materials science, renewable energy and sustainability practices.

Library Databases

The NYIT Library offers students access to many databases full of trustworthy, vetted, and peer-reviewed sources, including articles, reports, and much more.

DATABASE PRO TIP: Always select full-text when searching for articles!

DATABASE PRO TIP: Select peer-reviewed when searching for academic articles!

DATABASE PRO TIP: To search for recent articles, narrow your search by changing the publisher date!

Suggested Databases
ProQuest Central	Multidisciplinary database covering over 160 subjects. Great for finding peer-reviewed articles and up-to date-news articles from newspapers like the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Academic Search Complete	Multi-disciplinary full text database. Great for finding peer-reviewed articles.
Ebook Central	Search or browse through full-text ebooks in a wide range of subject areas. Great for studying and for finding research paper sources.
CQ Researcher	Reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Great for current events and issues.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context	Covers today’s social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, from health care to immigration. Great for researching current events and issues.
Credo Reference	Dictionaries and encyclopedic resources for the Arts. Great for exploring research paper topics.
Statista	One of the world’s largest statistics portals providing access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources. Great for finding in-depth reports and statistics.

Zoning

Zoning Codes and Data

Charter of the New Urbanism by the Congress for New Urbanism
Assert principles to guide public policy, development practice, urban planning, and design.
NYC Planning
Zoning is a law that organizes how land may be used. It establishes an orderly pattern of development across neighborhoods and the city by identifying what may be built on a piece of property.
New York Zoning Atlas
Resources on zoning history in New York state, part of the larger National Zoning Atlas
United Stated Department of Housing HUD User
Managed by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development’s Office of Policy Development and Research (PD&R), HUD User hosts research, publications, and datasets in housing, community development, and more.

NYC Planning Zoning Handbook (book) by The City of New York
Call Number: KFX2079.A2 c.2
Publication Date: 2018

Citations and Avoiding Plagiarism

Writing Citations

Most Architecture History related course prefer the Chicago citation style. Confirm this with you professor. See tutorial videos below,
The Purdue Online Writing Lab - Chicago Manual of Style with Citation Machine provides general guidelines how to cite different works.
When working on a full term project, start organizing research right away with citation generators like, Zotero, or the Reference tab in MS Office.

What should you cite?

Cite Maps & Photographs of a Building - Architectural drawings and Models are subject to copyright.
Images, Diagrams, and Figures, include
- Author (Artist or Architect); Title; Date; Location/Repository; Material/Medium; Dimensions (if applicable)
- Descriptive captions when including images in the text and include a bibliography entry.
Images from Books, Articles and Images found on the Web.
Include the artist's name, the year the work was created, and the institution (e.g. gallery or museum) who provided the image. followed by the city where it is located, the URL where you found the image, and when.

EXAMPLE:

Albers, Josef (German-American painter, theorist, 1888-1976). 1930. Walter Gropius,
Ascona Sommer 30. Place: The Josef and Anni Albers Foundation, http://www.albersfoundation.org.https://library.artstor.org/asset/AALBERT_10311268499.

Portrait of Walter Gropius taken by Josef Albers.

Quick Library Links!

Library Home Page

List of Library Databases

Library Catalog

Find a Journal or Newspaper

New York Public Library (NYPL)

As a student in New York City, you have access to NYPL's resources. Becoming a member of NYPL is easy. If the NYIT Library does not have a book you need, try searching the NYPL catalog. Borrowers can place a hold on NYPL books and have the book sent to the closest NYPL library.

Get a Library Card

NYPL Catalog

Closest to Manhattan Campus: New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center