LibGuides: Clinical Resources: Clinical Tools

Stay Connected with Your Library During Clinical Rotations

During your third and fourth years, it may feel as if your institution and libraries are distant. But we are here to assist and you have remote access to all digital library resources. We provide access to a plethora of point-of-care tools to assist you in making effective clinical decisions and become a quality physician. We welcome questions and feedback from you and your preceptors.

AccessMedicine Physical Exam Videos
Physical examination videos organized by clinical subject.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content, including physical examination, communication and interpersonal, and OSCE clinical skills videos.
ClinicalKey Clinical Overviews
Comprehensive clinical summaries on the diagnosis, treatment, and follow up for select conditions, organized alphabetically and filterable by clinical specialty.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Titles (AccessMedicine)
Popular series on latest developments in select clinical fields, including information on diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and prognosis.
Diagnosaurus (AccessMedicine)
A differential diagnosis tool. View entries by symptom, disease, or organ system. Included in AccessMedicine app.
UpToDate
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. Please make sure to reverify your account every 90 days.
UpToDate Pathways
UpToDate Pathways offer users an easy, interactive navigation of critical, complex decision points based on patient comorbidities and presentation.
VisualDx
Patient-specific diagnostic clinical decision support system and reference tool with high-quality images and problem-oriented search. Includes lots of skin of color images.

AccessMedicine - Drug Monographs
Browse drug information alphabetically or filter by generics, trade names, or drug classes. Includes patient handouts.
ClinicalKey Drug Class Overviews
Identify best treatment options in a drug class, alphabetically browsable.
ClinicalKey Drug Monographs
Browse drug information alphabetically or filter by drug class, adverse reactions, indications, or contraindications.
DailyMed - Drug Classes
Browse drug classes in the National Library of Medicine's database of drug labels.
LactMed
Includes information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.
LiverTox
Includes up-to-date, unbiased and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, clinical patterns and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications and selected herbal and dietary supplements
Micromedex
Includes unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. Explore drug interactions, IV compatibility, CareNotes, pediatric-specific information, and more.
PubChem
Search for detailed chemical information in this National Library of Medicine database.
UpToDate - Lexicomp Drug Interactions
Enter a drug name in the search box. Lexicom, will display the complete list of interactions for that specific drug.

ClinicalKey Calculators
Filterable by category/specialty.
Likelihood Ratios
Diagnostic/likelihood ratio reviews, arranged by medical specialty, organ system, and alphabetically. Includes an interactive nomogram.
Micromedex Calculators
Alphabetically browsable or filterable by category or specialty.
UpToDate Calculators
Alphabetically browsable or filterable by specialty.

AccessEmergency Medicine
Filterable videos of select procedures in emergency medicine, from intubation to nerve blocks and beyond.
AccessMedicine Procedural Videos
Collection of procedural videos organized by clinical specialty. You can also use the 'multimedia' filter in a search to find videos.
ClinicalKey Multimedia
Image and video collection organized by specialty.
ClinicalKey Procedure Videos
Procedure videos organized alphabetically and filterable by clinical specialty. Outline of procedure appears below video.
JOMI (Journal of Medical Insight)
A database (video journal) of high-quality, peer-reviewed surgical procedure videos. Please create an account to access full features.
NEJM Videos in Clinical Medicine
High-quality clinical videos from the New England Journal of Medicine intended to help students, trainees, and younger physicians learn procedural techniques from experienced colleagues.

AccessMedicine Patient Education Handout
Find patient education handouts in three categories: Adult Advisor, Medicine Advisor & Pediatric Advisor.
ClinicalKey Patient Handouts
Alphabetically browsable or filterable by clinical specialty, authoring organization, or available languages.
GoodRx
A resource to compare drug pricing.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
NIH Genetic and Rare Diseases (GARD) Information Center
The Genetic and Rare Diseases (GARD) Information Center is a public health resource aiming to support people living with a rare disease and their caregivers by providing access to easy-to-understand, free, and reliable information.
Orphanet: Portal for Rare Disease and Orphan Drugs
Inventory, classification and encyclopedia of rare disease with genes involved. It also includes an inventory of orphan drugs and directory of patient organizations.
Undiagnosed Diseases Network
The Undiagnosed Diseases Network (UDN) is a research study backed by the National Institutes of Health Common Fund that seeks to provide answers for patients and families affected by these mysterious conditions.